We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Hout Bay!”
Review of Riverside Estates

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Estates
Ranked #12 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

What a great place! Our room was beautifully decorated and overlooked the estate's lovely garden. The breakfast was also very tasty...I love love love the chocolate croissants!!! The staff is so friendly and they make you feel very special! Thank you so much for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the honeymoon suite - lovely bathroom and lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzaan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Elzaan, Many thanks for your review last year. A blessed 2014 for your and your family. We have some more chocolate croissants waiting and know that with your next visit you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Best regards Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed at the Riverside Estate due to a friend getting married there, the staff are amazing and catered to all our needs. The staff were professional and friendly and made me feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble.
The local taxi driver, Lucas was great giving a tour about the surronding area wherever he drove me.
The wedding was amazing and appeared to go off without a hitch. The staff had things organised down to the last detail.
The food was amazing and the location was fabulous.
I had a great time and would recommend it to others.
Thanks you x

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Liz, Many Thanks for your beautiful review last year. A blessed 2014 to you and your family. Please know that on your next visit to Riverside you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simple email our reservations team. Best Regards Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Thank you Riverside Estate and all the friendly staff for making every effort to accommodate us. This is truly a unique combination of personal attention to detail, a setting in nature, luxury facilities and your bend-over-backwards attitude to make our stay and use of the facilities AWESOME!! I can highly recommend this destination for anyone who wish to get away and be spoiled or to have a superb function, business or otherwise. We have done them all at Riverside and will definately be back!!

Well done Robert and Team.

Burgert van Jaarsveldt

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burgert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Burgert, many thanks for your kind words in this review last year. I wish you and your family a blessed 2014 and thank you for always posting the most amazing photos on your travels. We are looking forward in seeing you again and know that a loyalty discounted rate applies on your next visit. Best regards Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

this was with out doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in . The attic we were placed in was filthy , the bedclothes were dirty and the place was generally in a run down condition .
I had stayed in superior accomodations for a lot less money and this also included a buffet breakfast . You have been warned !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Billy, many thanks for your review on Riverside last year in March. First of all a blessed 2014 for you and your family. We have made some major changes and the attic room has been re-done. I apologize for your inconvenience experienced. A whole new team is running Riverside and should you come to Cape Town again I would like you to visit and experience all the changes we have done. Your fist night would be complimentary and after this you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. We ensure you the most memorable stay. Best Regards Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great place, service is nice and staff is very friendly.. Big problem was that our room had no air conditioner! It's like we were
living in the 19th century or something.. Upon check-in when I complained about the AC, I was told that they would arrange some "coolers". A few hours later some one showed up with a cheap stand fan. This really didn't help much until about 3am when it started raining outside and cooled the place down. This is when I finally got some sleep..

That aside, nice place, beautiful views of mountain, feels like a secluded retreat but it's not far from the city at all. Staff is extremely friendly and service is very prompt. Just make sure that you get a room with an AC

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Kalaha, Many thanks for your review and it was a real hot summer last year. Best of wishes for you and your family in 2014. We have acquired portable air coolers for this summer for the standard rooms. Please note that on your visit to Riverside again, you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply mail reservations. Best Regards. Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were blessed to spend 2 glorious weeks @ Riverside Estates - our original booking was for 10 days only but we just had to linger a little longer! We were hooked as soon as we entered the estate: by the sheer beauty of the gardens, the lovely accommodation of the Tree House and the welcoming management and friendly, efficient staff. Safe and enchanting space for kids to roam, lovely pools, yummy breakfasts! To explore Cape Town, just hop onto the red sightseeing bus which conveniently stops right next to Riverside Estates. The perfect place to either just relax & enjoy the beauty that surrounds you or explore all that Hout Bay and the rest of Cape Town has to offer. Needless to say: we've already made our next reservation @ Riverside Estates! Thank you Robert & team!

Room Tip: Specify your requirements properly when making a reservation. This will help Robert & Lieze to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Helene, Many thanks for your review in 2012 and we wish you and your family a blessed 2014. Please know that on your next visit to Riverside you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Love from all the staff to you and you family. Best regards. Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

After our last, not so very nice experience with Riverside Estates, we came back with friends, after we’ve been informed, that the location of the breakfast room has been changed and the management is new. Yes, we’ve been invited to experience the changes and yes we’ve got a special price. But, nobody insisted or even asked us to write a review . This shows me how professional the owner and management are. Who else gives you the chance to See and judge the improvements directly on spot.
This time we had two rooms at the Lothlorien house. The rooms are large with old beautiful furniture and large bathrooms with shower and jacuzzi tubs. Outside there is a wooden terrace with chairs and table.
The breakfast room has been moved to the main house, closed to the kitchen, where no guest can be disturbed any more. The manager (I’ve forgotten her name) was always somewhere around and you could address any requests.
All in all, good changes that make, from our point of view, Riverside Estates again a recommendable stay at Hout Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Mr Herbel,
Many Thanks for your review in 2012. Best of wishes to you and your family for 2014. We have made amazing changes to Riverside in the past 2 years. Please know that on your next visit to Riverside that you entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply email reservations. Best Regards,
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
156 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
3.2 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#11 of 59 in Hout Bay
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#15 of 59 in Hout Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: $112 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Boutique Hotel, an elegant Conference, Function and Wedding Venue, an established haven, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town’s jewel – the beautiful valley of Hout bay. Our core values include Eco-sustainability, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment and romance. A place where guests become friends. Experience the magic with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Estates Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing