We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hout Bay Manor(Hout Bay)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$489
$415
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$423
$298
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Noordhoek Hotel(Noordhoek)
$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$123
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$164
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
162
71
18
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
71
18
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roomfriendly dogscape townnothing is too muchmade us feel at homeswimming poolbeautiful placehome away from homeguest houserobertestatevenueaccommodationtranquilityworldretreatvalley
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 264 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We held a Board meeting at this wonderful venue. The setting is absolutely amazing and the service was really exceptional. The staff was always friendly and no request was too much.

The food served was excellent and very tasty

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternCapeFundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Western Cape Fundi,
Many Thanks for your review on your conference in 2011. Blessed 2014 to you and your family. I am the new manager and at the time of your conference was not yet affiliated to Riverside. I would like to take this opportunity and invite you again bearing in mind you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply email reservations.
Best regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This unique gem of a guest house is so much more than your regular 4 star establishment. The first thought when we entered the property was "what a stunning place". The huge trees everywhere truly makes you feel like you're entering the garden of Eden.

The main building, named "Lothlorien" (very poetic, I thought!), houses guest rooms and reception. We stayed in the Treehouse, a beautiful wooden cabin surrounded by what feels like a forest, and a real treat was the huge deck and superb private splashpool. Both our rooms were en-suite, and being two girls it was fantastic not to have to fight over a bathroom! The attention to detail makes you realise a lot of love and thought has gone into making the experience of staying here a special one. From the beautiful wine glasses and the Weber barbeque on the deck, to a lovely basket of treats that was waiting for us on arrival.

The gardens are huge and really beautiful. We especially loved the lavender-lined garden paths, and were told by Robert (general manager), that the minty smelling ground covers planted between the garden path tiles were especially selected to make your feet smell nice after you've taken a stroll... And it really does! This would be an amazing venue for a wedding or special event. We had a delicious English breakfast on the restaurant deck, overlooking yet another beautiful garden.

What makes this guest house really special though, is the service. The staff are superb and really go out of their way to make you feel at home. Monzi at reception was always smiling and friendly, and ready to help whenever we needed something.

I thoroughly recommend this gem of a guest house to anyone wanting to experience something special, we cannot wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zevilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Zephnie,
Many thanks for your awesome review in 2011. This is much appreciated. A blessed 2014 to you and your family. We have made some changes and acquired brand new Cloud 9 mattresses. All the more reason for you to visit us again, bearing in mind you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply mail Angela at reception. We hope to see you soon again.
Best regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Had a superb stay.Riverside is a hidden gem,the gardens are spectacular,my accomodation was great and the staff were more than accomodating and made me feel most welcome.It's a great place to re-charge one's batteries and I was able to achieve good results with my associates at the pratical conference centre.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dealco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Dealco,
Many Thanks for your review in 2011. A blessed 2014 to you and your family. We have bettered our wi-fi as well as upgraded mattresses ect. We would like you to do another site visit and should you plan another conference to look at our amazing conference packages. Our return guests qualifies for a discounted rate. look forward in seeing you again. Best regards Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stayed there for 4 nights at the Paddock Lodge Room no.3.
Just beside this room (just separated by a door), there is the breakfast room. Every morning at 6 o'clock the staff started preparing the breakfast. You could here more or less everything what happened in the kitchen, even smell when the coffe was ready. On Sunday evening they had a kitchen party till 10 p.m.
Should you love things like this, go there and ask for this room.
There was a conference on the weekend, so everybody was bussy with them. Do'nt expect to see somebody from the staff. This is a good location for conferences and weddings, but not for individual travellers

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Mr Herbel,
Thank you for your feedback and as you well know we have made the changes on your second visit. Many thanks as well for your review on 22 November 2011 on your return visit. We would like and take this opportunity to wish you and your family a blessed 2014. please take note that we offer our return clients a discounted rate, simply email reservations and refer to trip Advisor. Best regards, Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I'm a Scio Practioner that works in the Vish Hoek nd Hout Bay eare every 7weeks. It's wonderfull to be able to go to Riverside and feel at home. Surounded by beauty. It's peacefull and serene, what I need to do my work. The staff is friendly and very helpfull. I love the feeling of warmth and homeliness.
I love going thre.
Thank you for your wonderfull hospitality.
Adrian

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELINGSCIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Adrian,
Many thanks for the beautiful words in 2010. Although we are already in February 2014 Riverside would like to take the opportunity and wish you and your family a blessed 2014. I am the new General Manager (2 years already) and we have done some awesome changes to the guest house. Should you decide to visit Hout Bay again, you are entitled to a discounted rate when staying at Riverside. Simply mail us and refer to our discussion.
Best Regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews