We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Calamari in town!”

Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 64 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant is a local institution, renowned worldwide for the best Calamari in Cape Town, with a popular sun-drenched terrace overlooking the bay and mountains. Calamari at the Chapmans Peak was voted as "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town".It’s the ideal location for those lingering sunsets and balmy evenings. A sun-drenched verandah boasting spectacular views of the bay offers an alternative eating venue for those wishing to dine Al fresco. And in those winter months, it’s one of few places in the Cape with fireplaces (dating back 100yrs)
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Calamari in town!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The food is always good here, but we keep on going back again & again for the calamari which is definitely the best in town! Service has improved over the years with food coming out nice & quick. Awesome location with views of the Bay, mountains & beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    265
    100
    38
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Food, Showdy Service”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We really enjoyed the food. The grumpy attitude from elderly male head waiter was a major let down. Apart from this bad attitude, this is a great restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HRH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“As advertised”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

They claim the best calamari in SA and i'll have to agree, plus add anywhere else. Bad weather meant we had the place almost to ourselves. Drinking an excellent SA Sauvignon Blanc in front of the fireplace with calamari and prawns - wow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosegrwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stopped here for lunch. Parking is directly outside and the view is amazing. It's smack on the main road, but you don't really notice it because of the incredible view.

I had calamari and chips and girlfriend had mixed calamari and prawn main. Portions are generous and the quality of the food is very good. Service was good. Wine was of a good standard.

Only negative is the hordes of street sellers that pester you from the second that you step out of your car (they cross the road and hover outside your car, ready to attempt to sell you things). I'm not sure if there's anything that the restaurant could do about it, as the sellers technically aren't on restaurant property, but it makes arriving and leaving the place a bit of an ordeal and "No, thanks" isn't an accepted answer.

Would eat here again on the strength of the food and location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoRoflers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“mothers day special ...”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its amazing position, in spite of the main road to Chapmans Peak literally on its doorstep. The view of the working harbour, Atlantic Ocean and surrounding mountains more than make up for this. We did not book but managed to spot a small table in the designated smokers area. (Neither my son or I smoke but we were hungry.) The draught beer was icy cold and most welcome but the long, long wait for service was not. Once we placed our orders which were for calamari and a steak roll, another long, long wait. The calamari was soggy, the chips were cold and not worth the hours wait. When there is a special day such as mothers day, it would be advisable to increase the staff ( that's not rocket science, is it?)- simply not good enough! Would return for the view and the beer, doubt if we would have a meal though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing