We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”

Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 63 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is a local institution, renowned worldwide for the best Calamari in Cape Town, with a popular sun-drenched terrace overlooking the bay and mountains. Calamari at the Chapmans Peak was voted as "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town".It’s the ideal location for those lingering sunsets and balmy evenings. A sun-drenched verandah boasting spectacular views of the bay offers an alternative eating venue for those wishing to dine Al fresco. And in those winter months, it’s one of few places in the Cape with fireplaces (dating back 100yrs)
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Great seafood”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Perfect setting for a casual meal of great sea food. The Calamari are consistently better than those available elsewhere and will always stop here for a quick snack wheneevr possible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CME999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    268
    102
    38
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best calamari ever tasted!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate here on 24 Dec and the Portuguese beef and calamari skillet was outstanding! The calamari was tender and soaked up the delicious steak sauce. I am in awe of this dish!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller6791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Sorry, terrible experience. lasting damage!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were seated nr the bar inside. All fine so far. My wife asked about various options as she is highly allergic to Gluten and the waiter checked a couple of dishes and confirmed she could not have them.

She went for Sole. After 20 minutes I was told my starter (soup) wasnt available. Eventually our starters came. All fine.

Then the main courses came (over an hour and twenty minutes after arriving) - Calamari for me - ok, but "heavy" and over-breaded. My wife started to eat the sole and I asked the waiter if the chips I had could be eaten by her (i.e. cooked in oil that had seen batter etc), he went off to check and came back to say no, and her fish had flour on.....

By this time my wife had eaten a good portion of it, and as a Ceoliac, now has stomach damage, diarrhea, and vomiting, and it will take over a month to recover.

A replacement was cooked. The bill amazingly had no adjustment, and I was too tired and pissed off to argue.

Be warned if you have dietary requirements, and thanks for the sickness before our flight back to the UK!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, full stop!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Visited the restaurant 3 times during our recent stay in Capetown!
Food superb.
Service friendly.
Setting amazing.
Will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlphaShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunset Dinner”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We have been to the restaurant several times and today was a great disappointment. As usual, the setting was amazing, but our waiter was new and very inexperienced. We waited ages for our drinks and then received the wrong starters. We all had the calamari and steak combo - were not asked how we wanted our calamari done (which was good regardless) - however the steak had an over powering taste is gas and none of us enjoyed it. Did not bother to stay for desert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing