We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Villa Afrique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Afrique
Ranked #23 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Mumbles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We arrived here as walk ins quite late having found nowhere to stay in Camps Bay or Cape Town due to the opening of Parliament. It was during the end of the summer season and we were getting desperate . However, what a find !
The attention to detail is incredible and the furniture exquisite . Alma was an amazing host and always ready to help with anything to help you enjoy your stay . Furthermore the breakfast was
delicious with a level of service I have not experienced anywhere else in the world.
Unfortunately we could only stay one night due to full occupancy but directly next door is Alma's daughter who has a 4 star b and b which was also excellent in its own right and allows you to use the small pool and garden of Villa Afrique .
Alex and Angharad
South Wales

Room Tip: Great restaurant on the wharf opposite !
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alex j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
32
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I treated our self's to a weekend at Villa Afrique. We blown away but the service we were treated to. From the very moment we walk in the front door we were warmly welcomed by Alma. Her attention to the smallest detail shows in every aspect of Villa Afrique. Not to mention the wonderful breakfast we enjoyed around the pool. Alma and her husband Deon are always there to answer any questions we had on what to do for the day or where to eat. We enjoyed the privacy we were give and will be staying there again when next in town.

Many thanks Alma and Deon for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by Alma into her beautiful home. we have stayed in many places including very expensive hotels, but nothing can compare to the friendliness and attention to detail we found here. Everthing was spotlessly clean and the breakfast and presentation should be what every establishment should strive to achieve. We felt we had been staying in the beautiful home of very good friends. We would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuidlaren, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for the second time in Villa Afrique, because for us it is one of the best B&B's around Cape Town. Alma is a great host and let you feel at home from the first start.
It is situated at a great place near Capa Town, Chapman's Peak and other touristique venues.
When in South Africa again, we certainly come back.
Joke and Roel.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are of high quality/
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am sure that Alma the owner spends half of day checking around if everything is in order, ad the ramains of her day is probably spent in giving advices to her guests and solving their problems.... A place were you feel at home. A beautitiful, charming home. Thanks Alma and Deon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Giulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotbod1, Owner at Villa Afrique, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We, at Villa Afrique would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor.
Your possitive comments are really appreciated and it was a pleasure to have you as a guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was very happy with my stay at Villa Afrique. Alma, the Villa owner, helped me with all my plans. She arranged my airport pick up (she came herself!), touring, shopping, a safari excursion, and a helicopter tour. Alma really went beyond my expectations when she arranged for a private tour of a diamond cutting and jewelry house. My accommodations were 5 star plus. I had a lovely time. It really was the nicest, most stress free vacation I have ever taken. Judy B.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms and they are all nice. I stayed in #4 and loved seeing the pool from my wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotbod1, Owner at Villa Afrique, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Judy, thank you for your possitive comments. It is really appreciated.
It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Villa Afrique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

What a lucky find - we were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. The accommodation is excellent and the attention to detail is evident everywhere. The breakfast table was a visual delight and the breakfasts were superb. Alma is an amazing host and we would thoroughly recommend Villa Afrique to anyone absolutely First Class.

Diane Terry Peta John

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#31 of 59 in Hout Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#9 of 59 in Hout Bay
179 reviews
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Brightwater Lodge
#22 of 59 in Hout Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrique

Property: Villa Afrique
Address: 29 Sluysken Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrique 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 5 Star Luxury Guest House is situated in Hout Bay, a fishing village in the Western Cape. Villa Afrique offers you panoramic views over the bay, beach, working harbour and surrounding mountains. Spacious well appointed rooms, all sea facing with tea tray, complimentary sherry, safe, towel gowns, hair dryer and crisp percale Egyptian cotton linen. The en-suite bathrooms have underfloor heating and heated towel rails as well as a separate shower and Victorian bath.There are numerous activities available in the area from hiking up the famous Chapmans Peak, cycling, deep sea fishing and scuba diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Afrique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrique Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing