We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wonderful experience”

Kitima at The Kronendal
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Between 1835 and 1849 the Kronendal Farm was owned by Sir William Josias Cloete. Legend has it that the homestead is haunted by his daughter Elsa Cloete who died of a broken heart after being forbidden to marry her soldier lover. Kitima still sets and serves a table for Elsa with samples from the menu to appease Elsa's spirit. Welcome to Kitima restaurant where oriental elegance and hospitality meet the unpretentious grace and charm of Africa. Our authentic Thai and Asian Fusion cuisine, prepared by our Thai chefs will carry you to a world of exotic spices, perfumes and all that's precious and exotic. Various dining option are available from our private lover's room seating 2-6 persons, our VIP room seating up to 12 persons, our Temple and Bangkok rooms as well as the Raya lounge for cocktails, drinks, snacks or even dinner to share. Kitima exudes all the splendour of a traditional Cape Dutch homestead with yellowwood ceilings, wooden floors combined with modern Asian artefacts and cuisine. Our cocktail list is extensive and features a number of award winners that are both stunning in taste and appeal. The restaurant has the addition of the garden and the Raya Terrace which are unique covered areas that are available,however these are weather permitting. We invite you to have a taste of true Thai cuisine in a traditional and modernised South African homestead.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

There is something to be said for all the cars the line the street outside this historic homestead in Hout Bay - they must know something! We met up with family out from Australia last weekend and arrived at Kitima at 18h55 in time for our 19h00 reservation (for 7 of us). We received a very warm welcome from the staff, and were encouraged to have a drink in the bar beforehand. It was a Friday evening and the place was buzzing with activity and laughter. We were then told that our table would only be available closer to 20h00 which was a bit of a dampner - and I assumed that this was their way of staggering the flow of orders on a busy night.

Kitima has a well-balanced menu with dishes to suit just about every taste. The focus is on Thai and Asian cuisine and we all enjoyed the dishes chosen. A worthwhile approach is for everyone to order starters and mix and match them in the middle of the table. We all had different main courses and everyone enjoyed what they'd chosen. Pricing was very reasonable for Cape Town "fine-dining".

The wine list was well balanced and offered some really good choices to compliment the fare.

This restaurant is probably best suited to adults looking for a sophisticated, tasty and reasonably priced experience. Weekends are notoriously popular - so book.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geejay036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    183
    56
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Magnificent Sunday Buffet”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Have wanted to try this highly recommended Sunday Buffet for some time and made a reservation 3 weeks in advance. A few days prior I called to change the number of people and was told my booking had been cancelled. No-one knew why. Anyway ti was sorted out and we went on Sunday and were not disappointed. A marvellous selection and knowledgeable staff who were a big help in choosing our food. Sushi, individual fresh salads, spring rolls, roast duck, chicken satay, dim sums to die for, soup, curries, stir fries and a range of desserts. Looking forward to my next visit to this lovely old manor house turned into a restaurant. At the back there is a casual lounge and bar with big couches etc. so you could just go check it out while having a cocktail. There seemed to be plenty parking as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarionCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Food but some of the staff has issues with Families”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The food and the set up is awesome specially for a brunch during the weekend. So for quality of food and ambient I will say its outstanding. However, some of the staff were extremely rude with the fact that my friends had a 18 months babie. They were very rude and made my friends wife feel very uncomfortable while she was waiting for us to arrive to the restaurant. We tried to bring this to the attention of manager but the sour taste of mouth it left on my friend and her family spoiled our experience. Either don't allow kids in the place or be polite and understand how babies behave when people are trying to have a family meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank rwurbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Thai Delight...”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our party of four plus our hosts for the next four days joined us at this 'cool' restaurant. What a place to go and enjoy and to be seen in - it appears to be the in-joint and the place to be!!!
Fantastic colourful and vibrant atmosphere that makes you feel good just to be there. Full of 'happy clappy' people and that includes the staff!
The pre food cocktails were cool to say the least. We were then shown into the dining area and seated at a beautiful laid table. The food was ordered from an extensive menu and boy what a feed this turned out to be! All the dishes were exotically prepared and served by excellent staff including one guy who could remember the entire order for six people without the aid of a pencil and paper! A fantastic night had by all and would recommend booking in advance as this is very very busy and constantly booked out.
Would love to return.......
David, Lucy, Sara, Phil, Martin & Sue

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luigi.90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get a table, somehow”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We were advised by our guest house owner to try to eat here. We were so glad we did we went twice. We blagged our way in the first time, booked the second.
A fabulous restaurant with a central bar surrounded by dining rooms. Legend says it's haunted and the ghost has a set table in the lobby.
Food - Asian influence range, style and taste.
Staff - engaging pleasant and charming.
Drinks - mojito all the way.
Price - value for money like we just can't get in the UK.
A great nights dining. The place to be. Deserves top spot.

Helpful?
2 Thank frank t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitima at The Kronendal also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Kitima at The Kronendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing