We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Mini Honeymoon”
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sanur, Bali
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional Mini Honeymoon”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My Husband and I spent 1 night here - it was magical!!

Not only are the rooms incredibly beautiful, the views breathtaking and the food exceptional, but Melissa and Ryno made us feel so special on our night after our wedding.

There were flowers all over the room, little notes and well wishes, when we got back from dinner they had lit a fire and we again walked into to find a room full of beautiful small details.

For dinner, they moved a table to a small corner of the room-away from all the other diners, surrounded by candles we enjoyed an intimate 4 course meal-it was perfectly romantic.

Thank you both so much!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    13
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
69
285
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed one night for our wedding anniversary it was so romantic, the setting is spectacular, the rooms are all named after and island and decorated to perfection. The staff are so friendly and helpful, I did not want to leave this piece of paradise

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

With the surrounding views of Hout Bay, crashing waves right outside our bedroom window, and the beautiful suites - the scene was set, for what I knew was going to be an amazing stay! From the most sensational food and exquisite service, I could not have asked for a more perfect venue to celebrate my birthday at. Romantic in every possible way, its definitely a little bit of heaven on earth! I cannot wait to go back there again to experience this all over again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Antigua room, which is located right next to the beach path way, simply perfect! Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Tintswalo Atlantic is truly something special. From the moment that we arrived, the staff treated us like royalty. You can't get much closer to the edge of the ocean than this. After check-in, we enjoyed a relaxing afternoon in the pool. Friendly waiters were happy to serve us wine from their carefully selected and reasonably priced wine list. There's also a cocktail of the day available as well as a variety of other alcoholic and non-alcoholic options. The suite we stayed in was big and tastefully decorated. A real beach-house vibe. All rooms offer magnificent views over the ocean and mountains. The sunset was unlike any I've seen before and life could not get better as we enjoyed cocktails on the restaurant deck overlooking the Atlantic. Dinner did not disappoint and our 5 course meal offered something unique and memorable. The food was fresh and extremely tasty! I'll definitely return to try out the lunch menu. If you are looking for heaven on earth, look no further than Tintswalo Atlantic.

Room Tip: The Caribbean Island inspired rooms offer unspoiled views over the ocean and Hout Bay. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A brilliant idyllic getaway in every way situated on the slopes of the majestic Chapman’s Peak. Most exquisite views!! The rooms are huge and beautifully appointed and right on the pebble beach. A must is cocktails on the veranda before supper - a breathtaking sunset experience. I had perfect weather and breakfast on the veranda was the highlight of my stay. But what makes this place exceptional is the service - charming and efficient in equal measure from all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anelpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buonas, Schweiz
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Back to Switzerland we would like to thank you again for the perfect and wonderful birthday-party I could celebrate with some friends a your beautiful place! The place and the view were stunning

Everything war perfect – the location – the settings – the service – so it was one of my most wonderful birthdays I celebrated in South-Africa – Thanks a lot to to whole Tintswalto Atlantic-Team.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuYBuonas_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I cannot praise this place enough. From the moment we arrived it was an absolute delight. Our room looked out over the bay to the town and sunset was to die for. Our room was luxurious but it was the view that really sold it, until we went to eat when the food blew us away. In fact everyone there and everything about the place was superb. The staff were so friendly and helpful I felt like we were dealing with true professionals, friendly and helpful and at the same time the service level was exceptional. The food was prepared by a staff of absolute gems, my husband is the fussy eater from hell and not only did they do all they could to cater to him but they fussed and made a menu to suit to the point where he was just plain spoilt. They drove us into town to buy a few basics and did a quick little tour of the town and a commentary as well and then came back to pick us up when we were done, all done as if it was a joy and no trouble at all. Nothing was ever a problem for them. The weather turned bad the next day, not that we cared we loved watching the bay change but for a couple getting married it could have been a disaster. They were planning an outdoor ceremony but this place created the most romantic option for them indoors, we came in after it was over and photographed what they had done as it was just so beautiful and romantic - I dont know how the bride and groom felt but I could not get over how lovely it all was and all on such short notice. I am sure they were happy. i would have been. We only had two nights here but when i win lotto I am going back for a month!!! or maybe longer... we loved this place so much I cannot praise it enough. If you are looking for something special and out of the ordinary you cannot go wrong with Tintswalo Atlantic.

Room Tip: Stay longer than you think you will need, it still wont be long enough. Its worth every cent. and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
11.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Property: Tintswalo Atlantic
Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing