We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Paarl
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We treated my mom and dad for a weekend break as a 70th birthday present, in June. If ever you would like the perfect spot for any very special occasion, look no further than Tintswalo. This is a spot that would be perfect under any weather conditions. It feels as if the waves will be rolling into your room any second. In stormy weather it is breathtaking to watch the scene in front of you and in sunny weather you can open up everything and experience the magic in a completely different way.

The bathroom looked so appealing and the bath was situated in such a nice spot that I wanted to hop in as we arrived and just sit in the bath and watch the view. In fact, that is exactly what I did! At night if you put on all the candles in the bathroom see how beautiful the mother of pearl shells in the bathroom reflect the light.

Tintswalo will leave you wanting more. I could imagine nothing nicer than being tucked away there for a full week with a couple of good books. Forget about excursions if you stay there, you will NOT want to leave that magic spot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugzPaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    12
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
65
253
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I managed to sneak away for a night for our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt we were in utopia. The views were stunning, the location extremely private and very peaceful, the staff attentive and friendly. We only stayed for one night but wished it could have been longer. The style of the hotel to all the personal touches just made a wonderful experience even more memorable. Even though we live locally, we will definitely be returning as it seemed a million miles away from our usual hectic daily lives. Thoroughly recommended. Thank you Ryno and the team.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This tiny piece of South Africa is a real gem. Even though we were there in winter, on a Thursday for lunch, the dramatic view and the outstanding food and service will be remembered for a long time to come. Their passion fruit tart dessert is one of the best I have ever tasted. I plan to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had breakfast there, and I have to say it was spectacular. Very friendly staff, esp Jabu (who I believe is leaving). The wishing stones were a nice touch. Congrats on a lovely, unique and very special spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewBuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

THANKS ARNO MELISSA AND YOUR FRIENDLY HELPFUL EFFICIENT (Well trained) staff for personalized service. Yay - we have discovered the absolute perfect romantic location - with all the bells and whistles - meters away from the water's edge - breathtaking views across to Hout Bay! Wonderfully appointed rooms each decorated with love and care! Best breakfast and high tea we ever had and never rushed! Can just keep going on and on ......

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
314 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

No detail was forgotten. The people at Tintswalo Atlantic do everything they can to make you feel spoilt and special. The food is great, the candles everywhere at night transforms the hotel ( and your room) to a fairy landscape and the views of the Atlantic is to die for. A return destination.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Set in the National Park just south of the toll on Chapman's Peak this gem is metres from the water's edge with views across to Hout Bay. We enjoyed a family celebration here staying 2 nights which is probably the right time. The luxuriously appointed rooms along the sea front are all identical in size but with a different fit out and colour scheme. The Presidential suite is set back. The service was exemplary, our only issue here was our electronic safe failed causing very minor aggravation. With such high expectations, the food disappointed with only a limited menu and ordinary execution. Breakfasts were great though. Just make sure your dinner table doesn't look straight into the kitchen. Notwithstanding the above a terrific place to unwind.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
8.6 mi away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Property: Tintswalo Atlantic
Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing