We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I spent my wedding anniversary at this remarkable hotel, and it was truly outstanding in every way!

Firstly, the location. It is truly a hidden gem, positioned in the most spectacularly beautiful location - just off Chapman's Peak drive, down at the bottom of the cliff, level to the ocean, within the Table Mountain National Park, with views of the Hout Bay harbour and mountains.

The rooms are individual chalets (all with a different theme), separated by a wooden walkway, all facing the ocean with balconies. They are incredibly luxurious with every mod-con you could expect including a fireplace, underfloor heating, gowns, slippers, blackout curtains etc.

The bathroom is a complete wow factor...with stunning sea views from the toilet, bath and shower.

We enjoyed afternoon tea, a lavish dinner and breakfast- and all were excellent.

The staff were warm, hospitable, efficient & professional.

I would say the property is more suited for couples (of any age) than families

If you enjoy nature and the ocean, this really is the place for you. There is the possibility of seeing whales, dolphins and otters, and also some smaller animals in the national park. They also offer guided walks through the national park.

In terms of its position in Cape Town, you are approximately 25 minutes from the city centre/V&A Waterfront, and its really a gorgeous drive, so need to feel isolated at Tintswalo.

However if your that way inclined :0) then when you arrive at this special place, make it your destination and don't leave until you have to. Your body, mind and soul will thank you for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapetonianForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 529 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

You dont need to win the lottery to feel this amazing - go and enjoy the venue, the food and most of all the people. Our wedding @ Tintswalo was organised and timed to perfection in just 2 months, thanks to the amazing Melissa. We enjoyed every bite of the gourmet lunch right before surprise our family with a wedding. Melissa and her staff helped with every detail to make sure it was a perfect day in a perfect location, timed immaculately. Each of the rooms are themed according to the island they are named after and the attention to detail is the cherry on top - with each room having a view across the bay, to turn down services at night that are different for every room. Their newly built pool deck (and heated pool) served as a great reception / party area.. not to forget a place to watch the sunset. Even if you go for a meal at Tintswalo, i would recommend it to anyone who want to be treat like royalty and escape the city for some time to relax and enjoy life.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaytonP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Simply the best! Thank you Tintswalo. Trump card ladies lunch for the end of summer! All will be back next year!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank JulieKilliasDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

From Julie Killias Designs

Our team is fortunate enought to work with Tintswalo Atlantic on many occasions.
They are consistintly good. Sublime views, exceptional dining and proffesional & friendly service.
It is by far one of the most magnificent locations in the country.
One just never wants to leave.
Simply the best!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieKilliasDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are very few locations in the world where the actual setting, views, and rooms exceed the expectations portrayed by the professional photos. And there are even fewer locations where the remarkable setting is complimented by outstanding service from all staff levels. By the end of our sensational week-end at Tintswalo we felt like we had become friends with everybody and so a return trip is so easily confirmed. The rooms are spacious and bright, and delightfully decorated in a range of various island themes, with 8 of the 12 at sea level and blessed with the most magnificent views and private decks literally jutting out over the rocks. The dining experience is classy and personal and the range of culinary delights and extensive winelist make it hard to leave the hotel to experience some of the city's world renowned restaurants. All in all this is possibly the best hotel in the best city in this amazing country. The setting is quite magnificent and it's difficult to believe that a hotel even exists along the famous and gorgeous Chapman's Peak drive. Thank you so much to Melissa and her extraordinary team for exceeding our expectations in every way.

Room Tip: Although we had the option of spending our stay in the two bedroom Presidenevel atial Suite I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We picked Tintswalo as the venue for our destination wedding knowing that it is the most spectacular and romantic place we could imagine. Our guests who flew in from all reaches of the globe shared the most incredible weekend here. The service, friendliness and professionalism shown at Tintswalo meant that we could only utter praise.

A great setup and a great team. Looking forward to coming again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This small restaurant is amazing! The views and setting are hard to beat even in South Africa where there a plenty of beautiful views!
It's hard to get in as it is tiny but do try!
The food was wonderful but expensive - however you are paying for the experience!
Major highlight of our trip to beautiful Cape Town!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank LorraineMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
379 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
13.6 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range: $727 - $2,215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, South African Hotels and Cancelon so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing