We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little out there, but the views and coziness more than make up for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
Ranked #18 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little out there, but the views and coziness more than make up for it”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hout Bay is a little out there, but not an issue at all if you are driving.

Rooms are cozy and generous with a large bed, and the bathrooms are grand, complete with a free-standing bathtub. I had the Aloe room, which opens into the garden and the mountain ranges. Only problem was electrical outlets are a bit scant, so you may have to unplug the tv! Breakfasts in the lofty breakfast room are scrumptious with a very nice selection. The photographs on walls are very nicely done, and most are available for sale as well.

An additional benefit of Hout Bay is that it is near Imizamo Yethu township, where you can get a 3 hour tour with local guide Afrika Monik. Imizamo Yethu may not be the grittiest township in Cape Town, but definitely more real than other townships like Soweto. The Constantia vineyards are also around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thandekayo, Owner at Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we thank you for your positive input. Also thank you for pointing out that we do not have enough electrical points in the room. We will now be putting in an extra plug point next to the bed for charging devices.

Once again thank your for staying with us
Kind regards
All at Thandekayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
66
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

With Anita and Martin as perfect hosts plus Banda and Janet taking care of our every need we were in the hands of a winning team. Our 6 day visit in June 2012 was enjoyable. Memories of the mountain views from balcony will remain with us forever.
John and Eileen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

You can see an ocean from your room. Hotel is small and it's more home than hotel. You have all you need in nicely designed room. Photos professionally made by owner compliment the interior. Breakfast is good, service is attentive. Everything is very cute - rooms, amenities, small swimming-pool, terrace, employees. The location is not central, but the place is very calm and nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugenia_Danilikhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Thank you Anita and Martin! You are all "Simply the Best"....The perfect Hosts - the most peaceful place - a piece of Heaven - great accommodation - awesome staff.... the best place to stay - We will be Back!

Room Tip: I've stayed in 3 different rooms over the last 2years and they are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

5 nights in the lovely Thandekayo was not enough! Wonderful hosts Anita and Martin made us feel truly at home. Careful attention to detail from Banda and Janet meant a meticulously kept guesthouse with a top-notch breakfast. We were sad to leave and will definitely be back.

The Hout Bay location is well-situated for easy exploration of the Western Cape - very handy to the trendy Cape Town and suburbs, but also accessible to some less urban places including the Noordhoek, Scarborough and Betty's Bay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed here for 2 days with my 10 year old son on a very short break to S Africa. We had the twin Agapanthus room which was just perfect for us and very comfortable, not to mention great value. The attention to detail which Martin and Anita pay to their guesthouse is incredible and really makes a difference. The best part of the experience is the welcome, not only from Martin and Anita but from Banda and Janet, and all the children. The views are amazing and the displays of Martin's exceptional art really lend a very high class feel to the place. Was really sorry to leave but hope to come back with the whole family before too long.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GF158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roses, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Thandekayo was a brilliant find and we enjoyed our stay there very much. Anita and Martin are extremely thoughtful and helpful and the welcome we received from the lovely Banda was SO warm. He and his wife Janet are such an asset to the guest house - her breakfasts are delicious and he has such a lovely personality. We really felt as if we had made friends and will certainly go back there again if we return to South Africa. plac

Room Tip: We stayed in Agapanthus which is at the top of the building and might not be suitable for people who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valstanRoses_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#7 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#27 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo

Property: Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
Address: 14 Luisa Way | Noortgedagt, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo is situated in the seaside village of Hout Bay, on the Atlantic seaboard of the Western Cape of South Africa, a scenic twenty-minute drive from Cape Town central. Offering luxury, four star accommodation with five stylish African theme rooms, all en-suite. Thandekayo is positioned on the foothills of the twelfth apostle boasting breathtaking views of the mountains that guard the town and the bay itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing