We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but refrain from booking online”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brightwater Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brightwater Lodge
Ranked #23 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place but refrain from booking online”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found this property and booked online. This was a weekend and I'd had difficulty finding a vacancy in Cape Town after calling around to several places - so we searched for vacancies online and found Brightwater. We stayed 2 nights. The place is really nice and clean; great sitting room downstairs, clean nice furnishings, small fridge in the room. However, I was pestered on several occasions by Gerard about whether we paid, despite the fact that he'd received confirmation that we had paid using an online booking service and that he was due payment from the online service. It was a weekend and the payment had not been posted to his account. He also expressed displeasure that the online booking agents take a percentage for their service. I am still bewildered why he signed up for online booking services when he is clearly not happy with them (though in my mind it is important to note that I would not have found the room without that online service).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our stay was only for a few hours but the owners have been very nice and helpful and the house is very bright due to many windows and glas walls. We had a cosy, big room and enjoyed the freshly made breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da_jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtenay
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

First visit to Africa and the few days at the beginning of our trip were spent in Hout Bay at Brightwater lodge. Could not have had a better introduction-- friendly , immaculately clean , and informative. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CourtenayBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommen The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Nice place to be. Very welcome. Room was excellent and room and balcony gave us much privacy. Owners did all they could to make us at home.
Breakfast was very good.
For our next stay in Houtbay we sure will take this place

Eise & Leony Smit The Netherlands


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very nice place to stay during our trip to Houtbay. The owners Erica and Gerard make you feel like you're staying in their private home, with a very cozy atmosphere and a very nice breakfast. The place is close to the harbour, only a few minutes walk.
If you need a dark room to sleep in, be sure they don't give you room no. 1, as it has a big window just beneath the ceiling without curtains! Everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our family booked 4 rooms at the lodge for a one night stay. The rooms were lovely and the reception was very friendly and warm. The owners were able to provide information about sightseeing in and around Hout Bay. We really enjoyed staying there and will do so again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location, amenities and hospitality are outstanding!! We spent a memorable and most pleasant stay in the Self Catering Apartment. Everything was perfect. Gerard & Erika made us feel like V.I.P's!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Esme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#6 of 23 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#26 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hout Bay Lodge
Hout Bay Lodge
#27 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightwater Lodge

Property: Brightwater Lodge
Address: 9 Brighton Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brightwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brightwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brightwater Lodge Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing