We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Le Bon Vivant

Le Bon Vivant
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I enjoyed my Christmas evening dinner in this place in central Franchhoek. Waiters were busy and did some funny mistakes. Time between courses was quite long and because of cool air at terrace, we were a bit freezing. Wines were mostly local from local wineries. We ate Surprise menus, and other courses were good except Yellow tail course was over burnt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    281
    130
    57
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about the service”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Having been here last year, we tried it again. The food is excellent, top notch. But the service was poor. Why would you not invest in your front of house staff? On arriving, there was only one menu to offer the two of us, but the waitress would bring one over. That didn't happen. We were offered water, but then sat for 10 mins, with No offer of a drink. The second menu didn't arrive, but the waitress came to take the order. We ordered drinks and asked for another menu.
She didn't seem very happy, almost had an attitude. I wasn't happy, but Jane wanted to stay.
Eventually we had drinks and ordered, the food was excellent. As good as you can get.
The other point that needs sorting, is the heat. Last year it was unbearably hot inside the restaurant and the same this year. The staff seemed unaware of this and when a window blew closed, no one came to reopen it, we had to request it be reopened.
Some extra attention needs to be put into the customer experience over and above the food. We will be back though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneTony13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service and wines”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We hade a lovely dinner at Le Bon vivant. Service was very kind, attentive and friendly. The food was creative made with perfection.
The wine recommendation fit perfectly.

Best of all: dessert!

We would definitely come again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frechmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a very nice time. Need to book to be sure to have a table. Nice food, the beef filet was excellent!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerome K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sooooo overrated!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We spent the day on a food and wine pairing tour and had fabulous samples of each. Bon Vivant was highly recommended and we got in. Two of us ordered the surprise chef's 5 course food and wine pairing. All five wines were marginal at best! The food pairings didn't enhance the wines and vice versa. With or without the wine, the food was tasteless - nicely presented but that's it. I had the scallops (3) and mozzarella salad...which took well over an hour to receive .... And a selection of 3 soups which were served in 3 sip cordial glasses. Those I got about 2 1/2 hours into the meal. We sat near the window overlooking the kitchen. Organization? Didn't see it. 3 1/2 hours later we finally finished. Understaffed, overrated. We keep emphasizing how good our wine/food tour was in order to cancel out the lousy dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Artyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Vivant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing