We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just that little bit extra”
Review of Le Bon Vivant

Le Bon Vivant
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just that little bit extra”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The meal was just superb and the wine flights perfect and had been set up by my son and daughter in law from England. We finished the meal and I asked the waiter to get a taxi as we had walked there and just fancied going back by taxi. I was told they would get it organised for me and lo and behold as service had finished we were driven back to our accommodation by the chef Pierre Hendricks! Service or what!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molarman_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    283
    130
    57
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food ever......”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We booked the 5 course secret menu with wine and wow. The food was absolutely amazing and the wines that accompanied them were beautiful. The whole experience is something that my wife and I will never forget. The chef is either a certified genius or totally mad. The combinations of food that he put together we have never seen anywhere before, truly a culinary delight and very reasonably priced. If you get the chance you have got to try it. Special mention to the waiter that served us - his knowledge on the food and wine complimented the experience even more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect service”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to eat in Franschhoek. We ordered a la carte (there's also a menu available) and enjoyed perfectly prepared and beautifully presented food (beef and springbok) and an excellent unobstrusive but attentive service.

Helpful?
Thank jessie_ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We are not foodies. But we decided that we would try what was described by our B&B host as the best restaurant in town. I had the springbok, my wife had the duck. We sampled each other's food when no one was watching. Obviously both made from top quality ingredients- both melt in the mouth. The service was excellent. When I asked for a drink not on the menu, the waiter left the premises and brought it in. Ambience was good. Meal finished with great coffee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Incredbke unfriendly staff or the way they welcome clients”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Last night I popped in in this restaurant.

The waiter asked if I have a reservation and I didn't. That place was not even full and the waiter answered you must book in advance no table.

Incredible so many empty table in and out side and they we not be bale to arrange an other table for 2 people?

any tourist be aware book of the door will be smash on your face.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Vivant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing