We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return”
Review of Le Bon Vivant

Le Bon Vivant
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Will return”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our anniversary at Le BV. I booked the table a month or two in advance and asked for a secluded table in the garden. Although my request was recorded in their diary, when we got there we were informed that they had prepared a table inside for us and we were taken to a table near the kitchen. As the weather was beautiful and we weren't really in the mood to watch the chef, we asked if we could rather sit on the patio. Luckily this wasn't a problem, but it did not make a good first impression. The rest of the night was however lovely. Our waiter was very friendly and served us well. We had the surprise menu which we enjoyed except for one of the courses, but I think that was more a matter of personal taste. The wine pairing is very generous and all in all the meal was very good value for money. Dessert was simply breathtakingly beautiful and delicious:-)

Helpful?
Thank ejtpret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    964
    281
    130
    57
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Le Bon Vivant is a real gastronomic treat - exquisite food which is beautiful to look at. My only niggle is that they have almost become a victim of their success. I don't like fast food when I eat out but it took hours to get through the tasting menu. The chefs worked like dervishes in the open kitchen but there were LONG pauses between courses. Next time I would pick two courses, not five. Friendly, knowledgeable service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gansyandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markgroeningen, Germany
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A real improvement since our last dinner there”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

in 2011 we had the surprise menu with pairing wines at le bon vivant. At this time the feelings were mixed, The food was good but the presentation was quite neutral, with each dish you got almost a half-bottle of wine in your glass, therefore at the end of your dinner you were more tasting your wine than your food. But everything deserves a second chance, therefore we deiced to go to le BV again. And it was a very good decision. The start was not ideal : our guesthouse booked a table for 2 (we were 2 people). We were placed at a 4-people table. 10 minutes later we were asked to move to another smaller table. But the reaction was brilliant, our waitress apologied and offered us 2 glasses of sparkling wine, excellent customer orientation.
The food was excellent and this time very well presented.Springbok dumplings, kingklip/shrimps, excellent soufflé. Only the duck consommé with mushrooms was quite bland. But the foie gras with hazelnut and especially with spring onions was absolutely fantastic.
Our waitress was absolutely lovely and very attentive.
This time the wine glasses were half full, which was the right quantity if you want to continue to appreciate the rest of your dishes and your wines :) the proposed paiting wines were also good, better choices than in other restaurants in Franschhoek. The chat with the Chef at the end of the dinner was also very nice. We will come back again !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Close to excellent”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Although we'd made a booking 1-month in advance, it was somehow not recorded. Luckily I had an email confirmation and all was resolved with an apologetic smile and glass of sparkling wine.

The ambience is romantic yet relaxed. The service is also attentive, friendly yet not suffocating. I attended with a business partner and it was also suitable (although perhaps we did stick-out a little amongst the couples).

We went for the 5-course special with wine pairing. The food is very well presented in perfect portions with an interesting array of flavours. This included venison fillet strips for example, which were cooked close to perfection (I don't want to give too many dishes away as it's listed as a "surprise menu").

Although it's nice to be surprised, perhaps next time I would go for the A le Carte, as I would say that these dishes looked and sounded more exciting.

Lastly, the wine pairing was a highlight. The range was vast and the tastes were well-coupled with the dishes. Not to mention the quantity (extremely generous glasses).

I'd recommend in respect if quality vs. price. Make sure they have your booking though!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mugearsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A real treat, service and dining perfection”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having got married in South Africa, we returned for our 4th visit from the UK to celebrated our 6th anniversary here at Le Bon Vivant in Franschhoek. The service and dining were very special, indeed exceptional. It was a real treat to watch Pierre and his team prepare the delights to be served, the Springbok steaks were sublime and from the dessert menu, ‘All of the Above’ - yes all of the desserts on a slate, was exquisite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynneandMark2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Vivant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing