We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix of excellent suffle and unpleasant cooking fumes”
Review of Le Bon Vivant

Le Bon Vivant
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mix of excellent suffle and unpleasant cooking fumes”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Suffle Dessert was worth the visit and best of all dishes. Unfortuneatley at the same time as dessert was served a strong cloud of cooking fumes reached our table. I still have it in my sweater.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karl_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    281
    130
    57
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Franschhoek”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a restaurant not to be missed if visiting Franschhoek. Pierre Hendriks is an outstanding and inventive chef. On this visit we chose the tasting menu and it was delightful. The variety of tastes was excellent and the portion size just right. The wine chosen for each course absolutely correct. The service could not be faulted. This was our third visit and it seems to get better and better. It is a very popular restaurant and on previous occasions we have had to sit outside so this time we took the precaution of booking well in advance and were not disappointed. It was one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable birthday celebration”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful experience with amazing food and service. The menu was beautifully balanced and I was delighted to find a selection of dishes that I could eat, despite a number of food intolerances. Complimentary champagne was a lovely touch and much appreciated.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gillnorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic every time”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have been to Le Bon Vivant each time we've been to South Africa, and it keeps getting better - which is hard to do, as it was brilliant the first time! The menu is so inventive and everything done to perfection. As with most restaurants in South Africa, the atmosphere is relaxed but the service is also attentive, a wonderful dining experience every time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended by Long-time Locals”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

During the Champagne Festival we had the opportunity to chat to some long-time locals and asked them for their top restaurant recommendation. We were not disappointed! The ambience was really great, the food and service was excellent. The food presentation was nothing short of world class.

There is no doubt that Pierre Hendriks has a passion which shines through in the amazing attention to detail! Great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterdtza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Vivant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing