We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative Meal”
Review of Le Bon Vivant

Le Bon Vivant
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superlative Meal”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The restaurant is very charming and has no pretences ... which it could well have, as the food is beautifully prepared, magnificently presented and the combinations are something very special. We chose to eat off the a la carte menu and weren't disppointed. The meal deserves 5 stars, however we were treated rather apathetically by our waiter, which put a dampener on the evening (in retrospect). Whilst the tables around us were receiving interesting synopses of the meal and ingredients from their waitresses, our gentleman was exceptionally "brief". At the end of the meal, he simply disappeared with the tip - which he didn't really deserve in its entirety, without so much as a thank you. We were left to walk ourselves to the door! Such a pity. The owner/chef clearly has a wonderful passion for his business - you don't get better quality than this.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DANSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    283
    130
    57
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A dinner at Le Bon Vivant was one of the highlights of our South Africa trip. We wanted to go for the 5-course tasting menu, but there was one little problem - I am a vegetarian! However, it was amazing that the chef agreed to whip out a 5 -course surprise menu for me, despite such heavy dietary restrictions. I am sure it would have been a challenge for them, but I was surprised to see them take it up so readily.

The food was amazing, and even though they must have been out of their comfort zone cooking 5 vegetarian dishes for me, each one of them was excellent. The flavours and the presentation reminds you of the Masterchef dishes, and I am thankful to the restaurant for being so flexible. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely French cuisine”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

When visiting Franschhoek do not miss Le Bon Vivant! Really tasteful French cuisine and very kind service! Try the 5 courses menu, you will not get disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and Fainting: an evening to remember!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were two couples on a three week trip to S.A. and Steph had booked us in to Le Bon Vivant before we set off from England. Having decided on the 5 course tasting menu with wine our evening appeared to be reaching the heights. The food was excellent, the wine was equally as good and the ambiance just right. Then Steph fainted! She recovered quite quickly, apologies were made to the tables nearby and Steph tried to soldier on: alas to no avail. She agreed to be taken back to hotel insisting that the rest of us carry on with the meal, which we did though somewhat taken aback.The meal was an unmitigated success. When the bill came no mention was made of Steph's histrionics, nor was there any reference to her attendance in the total amount to pay. Professionalism and excellence are the watchwords for the food and service at this outstanding restaurant. Please visit if you are in Franschoek, you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rogbarre123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

First visit and already looking forward toy return (sadly 1000's of miles away!). Friendly efficient staff and gifted chefs! Deliciously prepared food which was presented as works of art! Agree with the earlier review about the dessert platter....... Must be experienced but needs sharing!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GronyaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Vivant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing