We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ranked #8 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfratshausen
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Great Guest House”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our second stay (in four years) at Ashbourne House. We were very impressed the first time around and had a another great stay this time!

We had a deluxe room by the pool which affords a bit more privacy. The room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. Our only minor negative comments would be the obsolete television and the weak Wi-Fi signal from the room.

Our hosts were absolutely amazing and extremely helpful. They facilitated our restaurant bookings - they provided options, I chose and they booked them all in advance. We were there over Christmas so I was concerned about availability. Breakfasts were very good; hours were a bit later than we would normally eat but we didn't have any early starts for other outings so it was of no consequence. They also gave us champagne and chocolates for Christmas. A wonderful and thoughtful touch!

The location (in town) is very good - easy walking distance to excellent restaurants. Would we stay again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    68
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
399
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

John and Russell are superb hosts, very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. The location of the guest house is just a very short walk from the majority of Franschhoeks' restaurants.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Booked via the tourist office in Franschoek for two nights - we loved it so much that we wanted to extend our stay: unfortunately Ashbourne was fully booked!
The guest rooms are beautiful and well appointed; there is also a delightful sitting room. Everywhere is exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. Russell and John make you feel "at home"; breakfast is a real treat with freshly made breads and preserves. We highly recommend Ashbourne House.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We enjoyed 3 days of sheer pleasure at Ashbourne House. Russell and John are perfect hosts and the rooms are beautiful. Every need is cared for and their attention to detail is wonderful. The breakfast really is cooked to perfection. The room we had upstairs was absolutely superb with double basins in the bathroom and lovely big shower. There is so much to do around Franschhoek, with excellent food and the Motor Museum is definitely worth a visit. Russell is on hand to give advice and is very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandDgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. Russell and John are very good hosts adn the breakfasts were excellent - best scrambled egg I've had ever!! The house itself is very nicely decorated but they seem to keep all the windows closed (perhaps it's a security issue). Our room (number 3) was very spacious but I did feel it was a little dark and one couldn't really leave the curtains or doors open (room had no windows) because people walking past could see into the room. Apart from that it was a really comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynnethv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I finally managed to stay at Ashbourne House after three years of trying (flights / dates hadn't previously worked out). It was wonderful visiting Franschhoek again after four years of being away... John and Russell are marvellous hosts, have a great team, their home is spotless and faultless. The breakfast was amazing and their dinner and vineyard recommendations were exceptional. They really can't do enough to look after their guests to ensure they have a good time. I can highly recommend Ashbourne House and I've travelled extensively, would love to return soon...

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and elegantly styled, we had a room by the pool in a nice quiet corner. Lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

the property itself is relatively central though you're still about 1km away from center of town. You will need a car to visit the wineries anyway. That being said you can go have a stroll into the mountains fairly easily. Rooms are fine rooms. quite clean - very orderly. breakfast was OK - nothing super special - fruit salads and granola the highlights.

what really made this place were Russel and John - they helped make reservation at a few great places. had very quick ideas on what to do. Demeanor great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYReliable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne House Guest House

Property: Ashbourne House Guest House
Address: 47 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashbourne House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously restored colonial retreat set in tranquil gardens with soaring mountain views in the heart of Franschhoek village, the food and wine capital of South Africa. Luxuriously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, each with own entrance and private patio. Soak up the sunshine and pure mountain air at the secluded heated pool. Stroll to the village with its vibrant cosmopolitan atmosphere. Delicious a la carte breakfasts. Parking. Limited smoking. Children welcome. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ashbourne House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne House Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing