We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ranked #8 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved my stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here last week whilst visiting the Franschhoek wine region
Charming guest house with fantastic hospitality from John and Russell
Very comfortable, wow breakfasts! and a great pool area to catch the sun
Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 919SamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    70
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
402
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luleå, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After a good night's sleep, always offered a wonderful breakfast each morning. Tips from Russell and John how to add up the day with tastings, lunches and dinners. Suited us perfectly because it was our first time in Franshhoek, followed these during our stay at 100%. Which means that we will be back to Ashbourne House 2014 :). Clean, Safe and Service for the customer

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffestalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

You expect a warm welcome in South Africa, but Russell and John excel as the perfect hosts. There attention to detail, eating out advice and very high quality accomodation makes this a great stay in Franshhoek. Thanks for such a lovely time.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E Kent,UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was one of our top two Guest Houses from our whole five week SA trip.Very good-sized modern, well furnished rooms and bathrooms,A lovely garden and pool area.Charming and very, very helpful owners who will ensure that you eat well in Franschhoek. A great holiday finale!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay here. Room was comfy & delightfully located opening out onto the pool. Wonderful breakfasts & Russell + John were excellent hosts making us feel very welcome. Russell was especially good at giving us excellent advice regarding planning visits according to our tastes.

Overall thoroughly recommendable & thanks again Russell & John.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wardjimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our week end trip to Franschhoek was made all the better for staying at Ashbourne house.Russell and John certainly know how to look after their guests.The breakfasts were just simply divine , made to order and nothing was too much trouble.A very stylish Guest House with exquisite taste, our bedroom was stunning .We are going back in 2014 to relive it again.
I cannot praise Ashbourne house enough.Russell and John helped us with booking restaurants and the wine tasting tour, they made our week end.
Subscribe to the best.....

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning, how can you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jude b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If only all hosts were like Russell and John! Not only is Ashbourne House a very tasteful and well maintained guest house it is run fabulously. We had a fantastic start to our holiday here with both Russell and John very keen to make sure we were being well looked after. Their knowledge of the surrounding area, what to do and which wine farms and restaurants to visit is excellent and they're keen to put this to good use so you get the most out of staying with them. The pool area is lovely and breakfast is delicious. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#10 of 63 in Franschhoek
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne House Guest House

Property: Ashbourne House Guest House
Address: 47 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashbourne House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously restored colonial retreat set in tranquil gardens with soaring mountain views in the heart of Franschhoek village, the food and wine capital of South Africa. Luxuriously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, each with own entrance and private patio. Soak up the sunshine and pure mountain air at the secluded heated pool. Stroll to the village with its vibrant cosmopolitan atmosphere. Delicious a la carte breakfasts. Parking. Limited smoking. Children welcome. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ashbourne House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne House Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing