We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay in Franschhoek” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashbourne House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ranked #7 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Ashburne for 11 days. Hosts John and Russell took good care of us and was very hospitable. They were very helpful in recommending activities, restaurants, etc..The breakfast was delicious with plenty to choose from. We advise anyone planning to travel to Franschhoek to stay at Asbhurne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 439Eivind439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    63
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
375
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a lovely stay at AH and were so well looked after by John and Russell, especially at breakfast when they took such good care of us with the world's best french toast. Enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmacksoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Ashbourne House for three nights while exploring the surrounding sine district. The room was charming, the garden beautiful, the breakfasts were delicious and the service was great. John was a very helpful and welcoming host. I would recommend this place to anyone, particularly if, like us, you have been camping for 40 nights in Africa and need a little luxury!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

John and Russell were amazing hosts! We were traveling through South Africa over the Christmas holiday and had not taken the initiative to book our rooms before arriving in country. One day before our arrival we called up John to see if we could book a room for arrival on Christmas day. Although they were not technically receiving new arrivals on Christmas since it was a holiday, he went out of his way to book the room and then leave a Christmas party to personally greet us when we arrived. He also went ahead and made dinner reservations on our behalf as he knew that places would be booked and he wanted to be sure we had a good place to eat our holiday meal. Our room was beautiful, spotless and homey with an overview of the mountain behind the hotel. Russell and John went above and beyond every morning to be sure we had ample activities planned to keep us happy and that we were visiting the best wineries and restaurants during our trip. I would definitely go back to this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schwitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights. I really like the room that we stayed. 2 basins with marble top. There are few nice touches about the room, such as the heating towel rack, seperate toilet and shower. The first time I found fresh milk is used for tea& coffee inside a room at a B&B. It is a luxury accommodation. The breakfast was also fantastic. Fresh local fruits, yougurt, museli, cheese and very nice jams plus a selection of hot meals. The foods are excellent. I would rather stay here than a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms which by the swimming pools are without West-facing doors/windows are cooller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KL1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had three nights here during our three week visit to South Africa.
Our room was luxurious with a large marble bathroom.
This was by far the best place we stayed & great value for money!
It was basically all the special touches which added up & made this place stand out from the rest. One example was everyone around the pool were served ice creams in the afternoon by John.
The guys that run Ashbourne are very friendly and extremely helpful.
They arranged our transfers and a great wine tour with Cheryl.
All the suggested restaurants for lunches and dinners were spot on, exactly to our tastes.
Breakfasts were excellent, strawberries, croissant & excellent freshly cooked options to follow; it was the only place that served us freshly squeezed orange juice!
We cannot recommend highly enough.
Thank you, Stephanie and Joe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

John and Russell gave us a very warm welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them. The accommodation is first class, very comfortable and spacious with many small touches that really make the difference. The breakfast was extremely tasty and the whole experience was first class. Ashbourne House is conveniently located to explore both Franschhoek and also the surrounding area so well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end by the pool, which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arliatna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne House Guest House

Property: Ashbourne House Guest House
Address: 47 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashbourne House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously restored colonial retreat set in tranquil gardens with soaring mountain views in the heart of Franschhoek village, the food and wine capital of South Africa. Luxuriously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, each with own entrance and private patio. Soak up the sunshine and pure mountain air at the secluded heated pool. Stroll to the village with its vibrant cosmopolitan atmosphere. Delicious a la carte breakfasts. Parking. Limited smoking. Children welcome. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Ashbourne House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne House Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing