We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals we've eaten in Franschhoek - and that's quite a tall order” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reuben's - CLOSED

Reuben's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French, European, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've eaten in Franschhoek - and that's quite a tall order”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We've eaten at Reuben's on several occasions over the years but didn't book a table ahead of this trip as we'd been out off by some of the comments on Trip Advisor recently. We had a change of heart when we arrived and really glad we did. Evening started with a tasty craft beer served by a friendly barman in the stunning bar - the bar is a polished metal aircraft wing. We were then taken through the busy restaurant and shown to our table by a large window. Service isn't the most personal in Franschhoek but it is efficient - despite the restaurant being busy the pace of order taking and delivery was just right. No long waits but time to relax between courses. Wine menu is good and has a lot of local wine - recommend Springfield wild yeast chardonnay. Food menu isn't long but it's varied and makes the most of the bounty that South Africa has to offer, good choice for vegetarians too. Our food was delicious - well prepared, well presented and lots of tasty flavour surprises. My highlight was the tender and beautifully spiced prawn and chicken curry. My other half loved his grilled calamari with a healthy kick of chilli. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gansyandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    368
    197
    83
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
210 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Book ahead and get a decent table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Food was really good and we had great service- Springbok steak was mighty fine.

Try and reserve a table in the front- the big rear dining room was not as atmospheric

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were told by others that this was the one restaurant not to miss in Franshoek but it was decidedly average. The restaurant was half empty and the staff a bit nonchalant. The food wasn't particularly imaginative and given the superb quality of food in the area we thought it could have upped its game. We wanted different wines to each other so asked for a menu which showed wines served by the glass - they told us it didn't exist so we would have to stand up and walk round to a board to see the list - why?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonCymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Supremely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Going to Reuben's is a Must! It should be on your bucket list. My husband and I keep going back. The food is superb and the service great!I love the attention to detail that is given to every single morsel that is put on your plate. We will be back again The proof is sure in the pudding!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madeline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
199 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Considering the vast selection of wines available in the Franschoek valley, we thought it a pity that Reuben's chose to offer only the most expensive. The food was presented beautifully, the service was attentive, but the cheapest bottle of wine was priced at twice what any main course cost. The decor was simple (we sat outside under the tree because the weather was perfect) and we enjoyed the experience, but felt it not quite worth the extreme hype that Reuben's has received in the press and on TV.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethnee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuben's also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing