We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book ahead and get a decent table”
Review of Reuben's - CLOSED

Reuben's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French, European, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
211 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Book ahead and get a decent table”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Food was really good and we had great service- Springbok steak was mighty fine.

Try and reserve a table in the front- the big rear dining room was not as atmospheric

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    367
    197
    83
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were told by others that this was the one restaurant not to miss in Franshoek but it was decidedly average. The restaurant was half empty and the staff a bit nonchalant. The food wasn't particularly imaginative and given the superb quality of food in the area we thought it could have upped its game. We wanted different wines to each other so asked for a menu which showed wines served by the glass - they told us it didn't exist so we would have to stand up and walk round to a board to see the list - why?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonCymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Supremely superb”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Going to Reuben's is a Must! It should be on your bucket list. My husband and I keep going back. The food is superb and the service great!I love the attention to detail that is given to every single morsel that is put on your plate. We will be back again The proof is sure in the pudding!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madeline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive wine”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Considering the vast selection of wines available in the Franschoek valley, we thought it a pity that Reuben's chose to offer only the most expensive. The food was presented beautifully, the service was attentive, but the cheapest bottle of wine was priced at twice what any main course cost. The decor was simple (we sat outside under the tree because the weather was perfect) and we enjoyed the experience, but felt it not quite worth the extreme hype that Reuben's has received in the press and on TV.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethnee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over hyped”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went here on the back of various reviews and recommendations. It's OK but compared to other places we ate in SA, probably the least enjoyable. It's not cheap, the food is good but not incredible (everything seemed to be smothered in garlic) and the ambiance is cold and pretentious. Worth a miss in my view

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank muzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuben's also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing