We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint yard, good food but staff attitude needs a bit of oomph” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reuben's - CLOSED

Reuben's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French, European, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Africa
Level Contributor
214 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Quaint yard, good food but staff attitude needs a bit of oomph”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was so disappointed when we went because it seemed like it was an effort for the waitress to serve us. She was not very helpful and when I discussed my dietary restrictions, she looked at me blankly and made very little effort to make any suggestions. Nonetheless the food was most tasty but i felt quite anxious to get out of there. Perhaps it was because it was quite empty but probably not as that has never worried me before.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaConcerned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    368
    197
    83
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Food was delicious and beautifully cooked and presented. Service was excellent. The manager was ever present, friendly, helpful and knowlegable about the wine. His advice was excellent. The prices are excellent value for money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JIV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgholm
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reuben´s has Gastronomic Food-Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

For years we have been visiting Franschhoek and every time we look forward to the meals in Reuben´s . It is really still one of the best in town which means something if you know good food . Normally you have to book in advance to get a table . Rather short menu but good .The prices for food reasonable but the wine prices are generally high .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KalleBorgholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dont be fooled”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Rouben might be a talented chef but he couldnt have been on duty we called in. His front of house and waitressing staff were completely out of thier depth. They were so poor we left before we ate our main course so in truth I cant comment too much on the food but Rouben would do well to get attention on his staff, or pop back over to Cambridge / London to have a crash course on how it can be done. Give it a miss.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank paul n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
472 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Our pit stop in S Africa's gastronomic capital”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were looming forward to lunch in Franshoek, S Africa's gastronomic capital. We spent the last hour on our tour bus wondering which restaurant to choose. Being in the town centre we decided that we would try this well known restaurant. We had some difficulty finding it, stumbling into a cafe by accident. We were surprised to see that,a s we arrived at 12.15 we were the first and had the choice of wheer we wanted to sit. It did fill up as service continued on this Thursday lunch but was by no means full.
My Wife had a belly pork, beatifully presented with flowers: perhaps a few too many flavours mixed into the surrounding vegetables and sauce but still excellent. I enjoyed a fillet of springbok: wonderfulyl pressented and very well cooked. 2 perfectly acceptable creme brulees then followed.
An enjoyable hour out of our tour bus was spent in this pleasant if not outstanding restaurant. The bill incuding mineral water ( no alcohol) and tip was R 500/ USD 60/ GB£35 /EUR 45.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theflyingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuben's also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing