We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Ranked #13 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“The Red Room”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I know that the "Red Room" was an öld standard" - but, although very pretty, wasn't perfectly clean.Coupled with this, when trying to find the farm (it being a sunday) all we got was a voicemail. On arrival, fortunately before 17.00, 2 friendly ladies gave us our key. Good stay - but maybe attention to detail a little lacking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    183
    42
    8
    2
See reviews for
114
469
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva-Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lavender guest farm has meticulous grounds and guest rooms with beautiful views of the mountains surrounding Franshhoek.
If you are hesitating between a suite and the honeymoon suite the difference is that the honeymoon suite is bigger, has the view over the lavendar fields and has a big bathtub on top of the walk in shower. Breakfast could have some cheese and ham for people who don't have a sweet tooth.
The manager Don was there overseeing everything and he is very accomodating. He gives good advice on where to eat….

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chouboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedemark, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Helpful and caring management, very friendly servants, peaceful surroundings,
good suggestions for dinner in town, lot of space in the room and comfortable,
next time in town,I would choose the same accomodation

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the lavender farm guest house last weekend and had a delightful stay. The rooms were much larger than expected, with vaulted ceilings, a huge comfy bed and tv, and a little seating area. The honeymoon suite came with a fireplace, although we couldn't find any matches or fire lighter to start one. A pretty patio backed up to a beautiful view of the lavender field and surrounding mountains. Also, Don and his staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend for a comfortable stay in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here on a two week trip through South Africa and didn't want to leave. Beautiful rooms, excellent views, cozy pool and courtyard... the ultimate stay for the winelands experience. If we were to do the trip over again, we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent one night here which was not long enough! The guest house is situated just out of town so was nice and quiet with no sounds from all the traffic whizzing through Franschhoek itself.

The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet with a large bathroom. Breakfast was fine.

To answer the points others have raised

The mini fridge is for you to store your own wine/water in. I would not expect a guest house to provide these!

When booking it is made clear that check in needs to be by 5pm so to complain that no-one was there after this time seems a little unfair. We were late too but Don came back to meet us which was very kind.

The breakfast area is small but there are plenty of tables outside. If it is too windy then you will have to squeeze in. The breakfast itself was fine.

The security guard was very efficient - he checked us back into the car park and asked to see our room key when we returned from our evening meal.

The office and breakfast staff were all very pleasant with a welcoming and friendly attitude to everyone they spoke to. I saw no sign of any difficult attitude to anyone.

Book and make your own mind up - it's a great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargateRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We recently stayed at "Lavender Farm " Our experience was delightful. The rooms were bright airy .Spotlessly clean. The bed, linen, pillows & towels were superb .....
The staff were friendly, polite & extremely helpful.
Breakfast was first class with a wide range of fruit, cereals, eggs and juices
If only we had more time to stay longer.
We will definitely return and stay afew days next time as our time spent there was fabulous

The Best
Debbie J

Room Tip: Definitely go back again as soon as the occasion arises
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek

Property: Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Address: 1 Verdun Road | Western Cape, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing