We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend of Magic (and views)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Ranked #13 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently spent my 1 year anniversary at this particular accommodation. It was obviously meant to be a special occasion, but nothing was to prepare me for the experience we had at Lavender Farm. We were warmly welcomed by Don (the manager). He treated us so well and had many stories to tell. He had heard that it was our anniversary and upgraded us to one of the suites overlooking the lavender and mountains. It was simply stunning.

The fireplace and decor made for a lovely setting to enjoy a bottle of local methode cap de classique. Everything was very clean and very new too. The fireplace didn't come with wood, but Don made a plan quickly for us and everything was set for a memorable anniversary weekend.

Thanks to Lavender Farm (Don and Frauke) for being such great hosts. I have already booked my next weekend away in the winelands with them.

Room Tip: The new suites overlooking the mountains and lavender are definitely worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 751 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent a Saturday night at the Lavender Farm guest house in Franschhoek in June as a family of four and what was great was that we had two of the newer luxury rooms facing onto the Lavender field with great views of the mountains and a great scent of lavender.
The two rooms were quite large, each with a sofa and king size bed. Our units had an interleading door (two doors actually, which muffled any sound from the adjoining room) which was perfect for us as a family of four.
The guest house is situated about 1 km from the Huguenot Monument, in a quiet part of town.
We had a great night's sleep with the thick duvets and luxury pillows.
Breakfast was plentiful, a combination of cereal, fruit salad, fruit juice, toast and jams as well as a hot breakfast with choice of eggs, the cheese, tomato, mushroom omelette was great!
The service was fast and friendly.
Don really enjoys making his guests feel welcome and was a wealth of knowledge on what to do and where to go for walks, dinner, sight-seeing and wine or champagne tasting.
Thanks for a great, hospitable stay Don!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lavender fields, nice view and a bit away from the manor house, so mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbrieDeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in a guesthouse for 2 nights - everything about the property was amazing! Great breakfast before we left for a wine tour - we had no car, and the owner was really quick to respond and help us get a cab into town for dinners (we stopped for pizza one night at Col Caccio and for drinks and pub fare at the Elephant and Barrel pub). The rooms are large and plush. Clean, large bathrooms, nice outdoor sitting areas, anything you would need for a stop over in wine country!

Grab some snacks in town and a couple bottles of wine and relax by the pool or on your patio, the lavender scent is amazing! It's like a dream!

Also, the local cat Cleo will join you for tea in the morning if you sit outside. She is so cute!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alohalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at LFGH. The rooms are big and spacious and tastefully decorated. Great location to the main road through the town.
The lavender fields are beautiful.

We visited in winter and our bedroom was very cold when we checked in.It would be a nice touch for housekeeping to switch the heater on in the rooms before guest arrival. The breakfast was delicious but we missed the lavender honey!

All round a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MRSV2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We decided to spend the long weekend in Franschhoek with our busy 3 year old. We were allocated room number 4 (a suite) at the bottom of the garden. The room was very large with a king size bed and lounge suite. It also had a private terrace that overlook the lavender garden and the Franschhoek mountains. The staff were friendly and efficient and served a more than adequate breakfast.

The guest house is about 2km from the centre of town, close to a number of great places to eat. Would definitely recommend as a nice romantic get away for the weekend

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank chriskCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The standard red and green rooms we booked looked beautiful on-line. When we arrived the host said ungraciously "Why did you book these old rooms?" but didn't offer us anything else as he said they were fully booked. Our rooms looked little like the pictures and were dark and cold. The tile floors were freezing and we had to request carpets by the beds. Under the front door a 1" air space allowed what little heat we had from a tiny space heater which worked only intermittently to escape and insects and spiders to come in. We resorted to throwing a comforter on the floor to cover the space. Lights were burned out in the ceiling and at our front entrance making it difficult to get to our door and insert our key at night. The main lodge was only open in the morning until 11 and from 2-5, leaving no place relax or have a cup of tea. On our last day, there was no one available to accept payment of our bill after 5 as we had to leave before breakfast the next morning. To add insult to injury on the last day all the lights in the parking lot and main pathway to the reception and our rooms were short-circuited because of heavy rains and no alternative lighting was provided. We stumbled through the darkness both at night and upon leaving early the next morning - not safe nor pleasant.

On the plus side, the serving staff were very pleasant and the lavender fields in front inn are very beautiful. That said, I would not recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavenderFranschhoek, Manager at Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Good Day Ann,

Please accept my sincerest apologies with regard to you disappointingly stay at our estate.

We would love the chance to change your negative experience in the future. Should you be in Franschhoek please be sure to give us a call we would love to host you.

Also, we have taken your criticism and constructively made the appropriate amendments to improve the experience of our guests in future.

Have a pleasant week further.

The Lavender Farm Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here in January 2011 (TA's travel date doesn't go further back than July 2012), for quite a few days and it was nice. We had a reduced rate because of some construction that was happening on the property at the time, but that never bothered us once!

Breakfast was small, but functional. The room we stayed in was great, and we were very comfortable and cozy in it. There was an extra room where my daughter stayed and had its own DVD player and TV. Also had a nice bathroom. So definitely no complaints from us.

Overall, I remember us being very happy here, with no regrets.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 64 in Franschhoek
631 reviews
6.9 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek

Address: 1 Verdun Road | Western Cape, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $122 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing