We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Ranked #13 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This has to be once of the nicest places I've stayed. The room & bathroom were amazing and spacious and also very clean. The decor was beautiful with images of lavender and a huge bed. The views were stunning, mountains all around you and a lavender field; although not in bloom it was still very pretty. The staff were really lovely and friendly and Don was such a lovely host. We also enjoyed the breakfasts and there was a lovely outside seating area. The pool was a bit small but still really nice and it just felt like a really relaxing place. Also only a 5 minute drive into the town where there were lots of restaurants and little shops. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat_and_Dib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 770 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a gorgeous place to stay. The surroundings are so beautiful, no words can do it justice. I think it is very under priced and I would not have minded paying a lot more. Don and his staff cannot do enough for you. I don’t have one criticism of the place. The lavender field is very picturesque, it wasn’t in bloom when I stayed (February 2012) but it was still very beautiful. The grounds are very well cared for, not a blade of grass is out of place. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and clean (I stayed in the red room). My young brother and sister and other sister and boyfriend stayed in the twin rooms (numbers 5 and 6) and I understand that their room was very recently re modelled, it is very tastefully done, everything is brand new and again, it is very comfortable and clean. The location is great as it is a very short drive to the town (you could probably walk it). I really liked this place as it is very private and peaceful. It has a very exclusive feel to it. I think it’s perfect for both couples and families. The swimming pool is also in a lovely location, overlooking the lavender field and the mountains. Whilst in Franchhoek I also stayed in a hotel/wine farm down the road called Le Petite Dauphine, whilst that is 5 star accommodation and extremely expensive, I liked the Lavender Farm equally as much and I would therefore recommend it to everyone

Room Tip: Room 5 and 6 is perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have just returned from South Africa and we stayed at the Lavande de Franschhoek for one night. We ended up just dropping in and asking for a room. The man (Don) that owns it was so helpful and he gave us lots of help finding places to visit in the area. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay .It was very reasonably priced for the standard of accomodation

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday in South Africa and we spent 4 nights at Lavender Farm Guest House. This place is a discreet, quiet and beautifully appointed guest house tucked away at the foot of the Franschhoek hills, just 2 minutes by car from the main street where all the restaurants and shops are in the town. They have very recently built maybe 4 or 5 new guest houses on the property and renovated and redecorated the rooms and they are of a very high standard - Huge comfortable beds, en-suite bathroom's, LCD TV screens, satellite TV, wine fridge, safe, lounge area, private terrace etc. We couldn’t believe this place was such good value. There is also a communal pool and sun lounge area however we generally had this all to ourselves so it often felt like it was just us staying at out our own exclusive guest house. Breakfast was good and Don, the Manger, was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations, local knowledge, wine-tasting tours and went out of his way to ensure we had a great stay. Absolutely wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax in Franschhoek, just minutes away from the vineyards and world class restaurant’s.

Room Tip: Stay in the newly built accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Couldn't believe how inexpensive this place was for what you get and we loved the privacy and am sure even if they are full it would still feel very private. The owner Don was extremely helpful and his advice on restaurants, vineyards, shops, hikes and even short trips to Stellenbosch, over the mountains to Robertson were all spot on.

The place is not at the centre of town and I guess one can walk if not too hot or early enough but this is what made it special because of the exclusivity it provides and the setting is stunning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phongtus2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Don the manager is quite simply 'The Don', his hospitality and helpfulness is second to none.
Did we want a restaurant reservation in the best restaurant in town...?
Don got it!
Don would quite simply get what ever you would possibly want if he could and he made our holiday!!
Rooms are of a great size with very comfy beds and great showers.
The location of the guest house is fantastic with the beautiful Franschhoek so close.
Don will recommend only the best places to go and we were more than delighted with all of his advice.
We most certainly will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lollyboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We had booked 3 nights at the Lavender at the end of December 2009, after our travel agency had sent us pictures of the beautiful guesthouse in the middle of lavender fields. We were totally mislead: they are currently building 2 new units right in that same lavender fields, so the place looks like a huge building site. We were very surprised and disappointed - as was our agency who didn't know anything about it. They finally moved us to another place, but after a lot of stress and loss of time. Don, the manager promised he would bring us a bottle of wine to apologize, and he never did. Overall - an awful experience.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VPython
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
1.6 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.4 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#1 of 64 in Franschhoek
597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek

Address: 1 Verdun Road | Western Cape, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $117 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing