We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Setting”
Review of Auberge Clermont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Clermont
Ranked #22 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, CO
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Setting”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This charming B and B is in a stunning Franschoek vineyard with mountainous backdrop. The accommodations are comfortable and the staff and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomer_from_Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    31
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon, and had a fabulous time.
We booked the honeymoon suite and it was simply stunning, so shabby chic, beautifully decorated and massive! Definitely worth the money!
The staff were very friendly and helpful, it really did feel very personal! And they were very helpful recommending dinner places and booking us onto a wine tour (which is a must do)
Such stunning scenery and it's glorious to go and take a walk around the vineyards.
Lovely breakfasts freshly cooked.
And lovely sweet gestures which made the stay so special, like a night time poem left on your bed at turn down!
A perfect place to relax for 2 days on honeymoon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Part of our honeymoon trip. We loved it. Stunning setting, beautiful room, gracious host and some nice wine. If and when we make a return to Franschhoek, we will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_Hanrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at Auberge Clermont for one night during Bastille Festival and were absolutely blown away by the beauty of it! Our room was absolutely gorgeous with stunning views of the vineyards and mountains. We had everything that we needed in our room, including lovely Charlotte Rhys and Molton Brown amenities. Service was wonderful and the brekkie was divine! I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahdeklerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Stayed at the Villa for three nights; three couples and two kids. It was perfect for our get together. Two couples downstairs and one couple with kids in the loft - the loft is huge with its own bathroom. It was immaculately clean and the views will make you return again and again to this beautiful valley. The lounge on the veranda was great for cups of tea, reading a good book, watching the kids in the pool or sundowners! The pool was super, although not heated which I didn't expect anyway. Did I mention the views....

The Villa is quite private and separate to the main guest area. Auberge is on a working farm, and we enjoyed walking around, meeting the owners dogs and generally taking it all in. You can walk to town, we did without the kids, doubt the kids would do it.

A big thank you to Jane and Stephen, both delightful to deal with on email and in person. We have travelled and stayed in Franschhoek three times over the past 12 or so years, travelling with kids now we couldn't go past the Villa at Auberge when next we return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalibela05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

However, despite a welcoming manager, the service was not particularly good. We had to carry our own suitcases up a steep staircase and the staff at breakfast were not very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne56Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We couldn't believe how beautiful the Franschhoek area was - what a view from the mountain road Hermanus. The Auberge Clermont was extremely luxurious and we had a really lovely courtyard room with a view from one window over a pretty garden and the other over the vineyard to the distant mountains - perfect in every way! Franschhoek was one of our favourite locations in SA - great restaurants and lovely scenery. The hosts were great and gave us lots of good recommendations which made our stay. We would highly recommend "Bread and Wine" for lunch and "Ryans" for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJF342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 63 in Franschhoek
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#10 of 63 in Franschhoek
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
571 reviews
1.2 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Clermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Clermont

Property: Auberge Clermont
Address: Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Clermont 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Clermont is a luxury guest house situated at the foot of the Franschhoek Mountains, on a picturesque wine and olive farm. Just a 10-15 minute walk from town, its position offers you the laid-back peace and quiet of a working farm with the bustling local high street virtually on your doorstep. Tastefully decorated rooms each reflect the tranquility of peaceful surroundings. Rooms offer mini-bars, coffee machines and tea trays; with small extra touches to make your stay even more enjoyable. Climate control in each room includes air conditioning and under floor heating in winter to ensure your utmost comfort. Free high speed wifi is available in all the rooms, the self-catering villa and the public lounge - which is also where our delicious Sauvignon Blanc, Shiraz and award-winning olive oil are available for purchase. In summer, delicious breakfasts are served in the courtyard under a grand old oak & in winter guests dine in the breakfast room. If you feel like taking things slowly, laze under another old oak tree with a book,or by the pool, whilst enjoying the incredibly beautiful scenery. Or, you could go for a gentle stroll amongst plum orchards, olive groves and vines to where a gentle brook winds its way across the farm. If you're feeling slightly more energetic, a game of tennis might just do the trick. Of course, we offer advice and recommendations on the best places to visit in the valley and will provide you with everything you need to find your way around town and to wonderful local wineries, restaurants and places of interest. Our dedicated team looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge Clermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Clermont Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing