We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BEST IN FRANSHOEK”

La Motte Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.75*
and up
Private Wine Tour of Franschhoek from Cape Town
More Info
$253.43*
and up
Full-Day Franschhoek Valley Private Tour
More Info
$250.00*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Winelands Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #5 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST IN FRANSHOEK”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great service, friendly staff, very good wines, special photo opportunities in the maturation cellar and all round a very good experience. Will return !!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    96
    27
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, MA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stop Here on Your Tour of the Wine Lands”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This winery and one other were our favorite stops during our guided tour of the wine lands. This was due to the very comfortable setting were we had our tasting, the very personable and knowledgeable staff member helping us, and the grounds. Pictures included show the comfortable, lounge area where we did our tasting with views of the barrel room. They also have a museum and cafe. I recommend trying their "organic" sauvignon blanc. I don't drink sauvignon blanc, but this one was great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PtownTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really lovely vineyard”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great set up, beautifully designed and maintained. Lovely restaurant, gardens and wine-tasting space. Also a quirky art gallery to browse around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
break_free_84
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“La Motte Wine Farm”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Charming, exquisite and beautiful, La Motte is truly a world class wine state. Your trip to Franschhoek will not b complete without visiting this place. The staff was friendly and took really good care of us. It was one of the best experiences in South Africa.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank break_free_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wines and welcoming service”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visited this wine estate during a recent visit to Franschhoek. The setting is wonderful from the beautiful restaurant to the interesting and well-stocked gift shop to the beautiful tasting room. In comparison to some of the other wine estates, the staff were very welcoming and the service was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkAAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Motte Wine Estate also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to La Motte Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing