We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benchmark for Wine Tasting Experience”

La Motte Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.26*
and up
Private Wine Tour of Franschhoek from Cape Town
More Info
$248.60*
and up
Full-Day Franschhoek Valley Private Tour
More Info
$250.00*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Winelands Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #5 of 60 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Benchmark for Wine Tasting Experience”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

OK so we DID have La Motte as the wine of choice at our Wedding - but the whole wine tasting experience you get when visiting the estate! Everything is SO professional yet so relaxed. I think we talked out of there with about 6 x cases of wine! Amazing!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MonicaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    96
    27
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This wine estate is a must see in Franschhoek, an estate on the highest level - if you would like to stay there for lunch, make sure you book well in advance during high-season.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NataschaMauthner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful with an art museum...but...”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The wine estate is gorgeous and artistic, but the service at the wine tasting was a little haughty. Additionally, the whole place felt a bit stuffy in comparison with Graham Beck and Delheim. There is an art museum attached as well but I wasn't really moved by anything there.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank switzloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine tasting and lunch”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Beautiful place!
Nice experience of wine tasting.
Lunch good and reasonable priced.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank oosten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Incredible Wine, Beautiful Estate”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We visited 5 vineyards in our short stay and La Motte stood. Their Shiraz was phenominal and the gardens, shop and grounds are impeccable done.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SMDavis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Motte Wine Estate also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to La Motte Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing