We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place right in the heart of the wine lands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge La Dauphine
Ranked #40 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place right in the heart of the wine lands”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed over Christmas and New Year and we had a fabulous time. The adults stayed in the main house which is stunning and beautifully decorated. The kids stayed in the cottages down among the vineyards and had a brilliant time swimming in the pool and the dam. The breakfast were great with a wide variety including cooked, fresh fruit and cheeses so everyone was happy. The staff are great and really helpful with wine tours and trips out to other places. The town is about a 1/2 mile away and you do need a car if you want to go further afield to Cape Town, Camps Bay etc., but Franschhoek has plenty of restaurants and shops for the evenings.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCR9750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    72
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
155
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We arrived there on a rainy day during the Christmas holidays but the warm welcome we received from Anne and her husband made it a wonderful day after all. We stayed at their house, where they have two additional rooms for when the Auberge is fully booked. Our room was very new and tastefully decorated with a hammam-like bathroom and lovely views over the estate. Once the weather had cleared up Anne and the dogs showed us around the grounds. Franschhoek village is very picturesque; you can easily spend a full day strolling the main street and the restaurants are among the best in the country. Anne made us a reservation at Le Bon Vivant well in advance to make sure we had a table during this busy Christmas period. Breakfast at the Auberge was lavish and served with the attention to detail we had quickly grown accustomed to. To sum up the Auberge La Dauphine: excellent value for money, a very well-managed guesthouse and the warmest stay of our trip around the Cape! Our only regret is that we stayed just one night…

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

From the minute you walk into this corner of paradise you are made to feel part of the family.From the greeting at reception ,the attention to detail in the spacious rooms to the sumptious breakfast,you feel at home immediately. the dogs are an added bonus. all credit to the hosts Anne and Dan ,for whom nothing is a problem and they are always ready to help.A must for those that want to take in the scenery and perfect location for all the fine dining

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theboyzStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We just loved this place! It's like staying in the country. Ronel was extremely efficient, making bookings and guiding us, and givng us great suggestions for restaurants. She really knows what she's doing! Anne and her partner were very nice and have a lovely house across the dam. Our 'room' was in fact a a double-storey suite with a loft-like bedroom overlooking a stud farm and mountains. It was very cosy and well-decorated. Breakfast was served in a nice room. There's a very pleasant walk up to the dam, and the neighbours very smart collie kept us company!
Also, just a 5 minute ride into the main street. I'd love to stay here again. Very relaxing and peaceful!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vel0cityviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

After much research my husband & I decided to stay here for a few nights & were certainly not disappointed! This is a lovely B&B, in the most perfect setting, with friendly, genuine staff who aim to please.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemytravelsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2009

3 nights just wasn't long enough! We fell in love with both Franschhoek and the auberge which is delightful and in a truly stunning setting just minutes by car out of town. We constantly marvelled at the 360deg. panoramic views from the property. The owners, Anne and Dan, have created a relaxed and friendly air - our type of place. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Anne who immediately made a reservation for us at Le Bon Vivant for that evening (very important in Franschhoek as the cuisine is first class and restaurants book up very quickly). We had the Shiraz room which was very clean, spacious and very well equipped. We could not fault the service we received and the staff were courteous and friendly. The breakfasts were so delicious. The swimming pool was clean and very welcome after some very hot days. There are also plenty of sun loungers. One evening we took some wine up to the gazebo and watched the sun set - doesn't get any better. Book this accommodation now as it represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed at Auberge La Dauphine on the recommendation of a friend and loved it. We were warmly greeted at check-in and provided with recommendations for dinner and activities during our stay.

The accomodations are on a quiet and tranquil setting with stunning views of the surrounding winelands, mountains, pastures, and stars above at night.

The value is tremendous, I've never before experienced such warm and personal service and beautiful accomodations for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skigeoff02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.1 mi away
Rose Cottages
Rose Cottages
#25 of 42 in Franschhoek
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Auberge Clermont
Auberge Clermont
#22 of 63 in Franschhoek
179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Basse Provence
Basse Provence
#42 of 63 in Franschhoek
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Dauphine

Property: Auberge La Dauphine
Address: Verdun Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge La Dauphine is situated in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, surrounded by majestic mountains, only 50 minutes drive from Cape Town and 2 minutes drive from Franschhoek village. Set in 4 hectares with its own vineyards, orchards and dam, it offers wonderful bed and breakfast accommodation in a sympathetically converted former wine store and cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge La Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Dauphine Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing