We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge La Dauphine
Ranked #41 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“What a find!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful guesthouse only minutes from the village but secluded
and quiet.
We had a beautiful airy suite for 5 nights.
Anne, Dan and their staff go out of their way to make you welcome and offer all sorts of advice and information so you get the most out of you stay.
Breakfasts were deliciously varied and fresh and served in a nice bright and sunny room.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment and have put it on our list of must returns.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INACentralHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    72
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
154
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have now stayed at Auberge La Dauphine on three separate occasions, and I always enjoy it. The couple who runs the place are incredibly friendly and welcoming, and the setting just outside of town gives it a more natural feel while still being close to all the great restaurants and wineries. Fantastic value for money in Franschhoek!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the moment I stepped in this little farm I immediately regretted staying for just one night.
The place is beautiful and we had a wonderful view of the mountains from our room.

The girl at reception went out of her way to secure us a last minute booking for dinner at a great restaurant (everywhere seemed to be booked out, but after a few calls she got us a table at Reubens where we had a fantastic meal), and she also recommended a few wineries to visit the next day.

Breakfast was very good.

The Auberge is a pleasant 15-minute walk to town, but apparently it's not advisable to walk back after dark (that's what the police told us as we were approaching the hotel after dinner).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BereAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Thank you Anne and Ronelle for making our stay comfortable especially considering we had our little jack Russell with us.
We stayed in the Apples Cottage for a night. The farm is beautiful, with a great dam, swimming pool and little garden to relax in. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean and spacious.Breakfasts were substantial. The farm is a two minute convenient drive from town.

We will definately be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We staid in the Apples Cottage which is away from the main Guest House. The cottage is spacious, extremely neat and clean and decorated with style. Plenty of white clean crispy towels. The owners and employees takes pride in their establishment without intruding on your privacy. Ideal location to visit the nearby village.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSw312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Auberge La Dauphine offers comfortable accommodation at a fair price. The cottage we stayed in for one night catered to all our needs. The en-suite bathrooms are spacious with large bath and shower. Soaps and towels are available in the bathroom. The kitchen is fully equipped including fresh milk and complimentary coffee. We used the television only for background music. A couple of channels are available should you choose to stay in and relax on the couch. Alternatively you can make use of the well-kept facilities including tennis, swimming, sunbathing or a drink in the gazebo next to the dam. The surrounding Franschhoek Mountains adds a sense of relaxation and peace to every corner on the property.

We were most impressed by Ronel. Her sincere and friendly service is highly commendable! Upon enquiry she told us off by heart which restaurants in the village could seat us at what time and made the necessary arrangements for dinner. Breakfast is served only between 8.30 and 9.30. Since we decided to lie in after a lovely evening in the village, we were not ready to make our way to the breakfast room by 9.30. We asked if we could have breakfast in the cottage which was no problem at all. We were all blown away by the wonderful service that we received! (Thank you so much, Ronel! The level of authentic service you offer is a rare find.)

If you are after luxury and grandeur you will certainly find it in Franschhoek. At Auberge La Dophine you will find tasteful, simple, comfortable accommodation on a large property two minutes away from the village.

Room Tip: The two cottages offer more privacy as they are a short walking distance from the guesthouse. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages, and loved it. You have everything you need, and a bit more off the beaten road. Not far away from Franschoek Kitchen @ Holden Manz. They have 2 bicycles you can rent for Zar50 /day. Perfect start to the wine exploring trip.

Room Tip: go for the cottage! much better and more private than the normal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#16 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
6.9 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.3 mi away
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
#6 of 40 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.1 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Dauphine

Property: Auberge La Dauphine
Address: Verdun Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge La Dauphine is situated in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, surrounded by majestic mountains, only 50 minutes drive from Cape Town and 2 minutes drive from Franschhoek village. Set in 4 hectares with its own vineyards, orchards and dam, it offers wonderful bed and breakfast accommodation in a sympathetically converted former wine store and cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge La Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Dauphine Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing