We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gable Manor Guest House
Ranked #44 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Attended annual literary book fair and stayed one night. Lovely B & B would definitely stay there again. Delicious breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

Travelling for business can be tiresome, even stressful when accompanied by important clients from overseas, especially if the country of origin is France. One always worries whether they are comfortable, do they like the place, are they happy with the choice of accommodation etc? Well, no need to worry about any of these when staying at Gable Manor! Not only is the place exquisite, offering the best value for money that I have found in a long time (& my line of work requires a lot of travelling) but also the hosts, Marlyn & Don Carroll, are incredibly welcoming, very friendly & always willing to get out of their way to ensure their guests enjoy their stay to the full. Sadly, our busy schedule did not allow us to indulge for too long, but we will definitely be back, this time for a holiday. Congratulations to Marlyn & Don for their efforts & enthusiasm in making Gable Manor such a wonderful place. Thank you. With fondest regards, Anca Ghetea - Carpathia Consulting (Pty) Ltd.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countess-Dracula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jcg27, Owner at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2009

Dear Anca,

Thanks for this stunning review - you have a great way with words.

Keep well and hope to see you here again soon.

Best wishes, Don.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

The service and the building where simply spotless, the service was fabulous and the owner extremely helpful and friendly.

We had a marvelous stay at the Gable Manor.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crufede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Pure luxury, peace & tranquility are the hallmarks of this wonderful establishment which also offers probably the best breakfast in South Africa. Well done to all concerned and can't wait to come back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wysebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

This was our second stay at Gable Manor in less than 6 months. The Manor is the perfect place to stay to get the best out of a Franschoek visit. The facilities, friendly staff and breakfasts are all out of the top drawer and the pool is so welcoming when the mercury nudges 40 degrees (as it did on our January visit). There is much to see and do in Franschoek - shopping, winetasting, vineyard tours, restaurants to suit all budgets, museums and festivals. After two stays we still have more to see so WE SHALL RETURN!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stebndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Friendly, beautiful rooms, bountifull breakfast, hopeless for waistline! tranquill setting,
staff could not be more helpfull.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Not only were we well looked after in a luxurious setting, but the staff made us feel at home, comfortable and a part of the family. From telling us all the local places to see and things to do, to recommendations and bookings at restaurants.

The Guest House is beautifully situated in Franschoek over looking the wonderful valley rich in culture and vineyards. A definite must for a place to stay.

Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank Guckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
#35 of 64 in Franschhoek
239 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Manor Guest House

Address: 4 Malherbe Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $167 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gable Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing