We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here when you're in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay here when you're in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

Plumwood Inn is a really lovely place. It has pretty much everything you could want from a place to stay - all the amenities you would need, beautiful salt water swimming pools, a fantastic room and probably one of the nicest bathrooms I've seen in a guesthouse. The breakfasts are delicious and the owners are really friendly and take pride in what they have created in this special place. It is a really relaxing place to stay. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank London_UKAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
417
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali Rwanda
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

There's not much to say except that Plumwood is THE standout B&B in Franschhoek. The owners are lovely, breakfast is always pleasing, the rooms are spotless and have our favorite bathrooms in South Africa. It's simply a wonderful experience. They also have an arrangement with the local health club -- good to know if you eat like we did!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayinkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

Well presented B&B in a great location in Franschoek. Hazel was a star organising our activities for us and Roel made some great vineyard recommendations. The rooms were large and the bathrooms outstanding with really nice toiletries. Breakfast was nice and a good opportunity to chat with Roel and Lucienne.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuthieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

Great location, owners very helpful, friendly, rooms beautifully decorated, great breakfasts, honour bar & sooooooo peaceful!

Pools too small to swim lengths but great to dip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank griffmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

Stayed here for the final 2 nights of our 2-week trip. The location of Plumwood is great, within easy walking distance of the main street in Franschhoek. The owners, Lucienne and Roel, were just lovely - genuine, friendly and helpful. They were on hand throughout our stay and booked us into restaurants at the last minute and organised a great wine tour for us. The rooms were comfortable, bathrooms just gorgeous and very luxurious. Breakfast was also lovely - a big choice including extremely tempting home-made pastries. It was a shame we only had 2 nights here, but it was a good send-off and I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MsHMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells,kent,england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Stayed there for 3 nights this November.Gorgeous breakfast with home made bread and muffins.Rooms very well appointed.The Dutch couple who own this establishment really know what they are doing,Always very helpful,as is Hazel in the office.This a place to visit to enjoy the local cuisine.AND,you can walk to the wineries.Excellent

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank webbski9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed here for four nights in October and it was absolutely delightful, from the very spacious room with fabulous bathroom, to the sumptuous home-cooked muffins, breads and jams for breakfast - all contributed to a lovely haven in this beautiful town. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollybanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Property: Plumwood Inn
Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing