We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing & welcoming - what more do you need?”
Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumwood Inn
Ranked #7 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing & welcoming - what more do you need?”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed here for four nights in October and it was absolutely delightful, from the very spacious room with fabulous bathroom, to the sumptuous home-cooked muffins, breads and jams for breakfast - all contributed to a lovely haven in this beautiful town. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollybanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
421
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

In 2wks we stayed at 7 different accommodations, as we traveled around the Western Cape and the Plumb Wood Inn came out on top. Everything was perfect, the location, the guest house, the food. The owners made a special effort to make you feel at home, they would give you advice on where to go in Franschhoek and the surounded area.
Don't just take my advice, read all the other reviews and you will see that this is the best guest house to stay in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GwynantWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed in July at the start of a trip to South Africa, and were very happy with our first impressions. The 2 buildings and the rooms are beautiful and Hazel is very welcoming. However, recent work to fix some pluming or similar issues meant that our power went off when it rained. This was not explained to us fully on check in, and we were told it was unlikely that power will go off, but there are candles. So I used the lovely big tub, and washed my hair before dinner at Le Quartier (which I highly recommend) and the power went on and off 3 times. Wet hair, no dryer, no heating, had to use my mobile to call the main house as the power lapse also put the intercom off. Look, this will probably not be a regular occurence, but had they explained and given us the option to move to the other building, our stay would have been perfect. Otherwise, the service, location, breakfast etc were all great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audreylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This guest house is situated within easy walking distance of the shops and restuarants in Franschhoek. We stayed in a standard room but it was luxurious, with loads of cushions on the bed and underfloor heating in the gorgeous bathroom. Hazel was very welcoming and on checking in gave us loads of useful information about Franschhoek and what we could see and do. She also gave us a folder full of menus for the various restaurants and offered to book for us. The guest house has two pools which look amazing, though it was too cold to use them when we were there. Breakfast is included and is great with lots of options. Stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dean_seamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We spent one night in Franschhoek, and after much research decided on staying at Plumwood. We were so happy with our choice! On the outside, it didn't look like much since they were retiling the floors. However, we were lead to our room and it was wonderful. We stayed in Room 2, which looks out over tCabriere Street and to some of the mountains in the background. The room was so comfortable and cozy - it was like we were staying at a friend's house. And the bathroom!!! All I can say is heated floors! Lots of sink space and a nice, open shower as well.
The sitting areas were very nice, although we weren't really there long enough to enjoy them. There was a pool as well (or maybe 2?) but it was way too cold to enjoy those! Breakfast was very good, and we definitely used the Honesty Bar.
Naomi, (the manager perhaps?) was wonderful. She was so accomodating to any of our requests. She also made us reservations at Reuben's, which is walking distance from Plumwood.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful little inn! The price was very reasonable as well, which makes it even better!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We spent 3 nights at Plumwood Inn in April and it was, without hesitating, the best guesthouse in South Africa we ever stayed in. The owners were lovely, very caring. They served the breakfast themselves and we had some good chats with them. Breakfast is wonderful, lots of home-made goodies and the coffee is extremely good. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Botoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumpin' all over the world
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

We showed up at the Plumwood Inn at 8pm with no reservation and no advance warning. Our guesthouse owner in Cape Town had suggested it and we thought we'd stop by to see if there was availability. Not only was there, but the owners were friendly and helpful even at that late hour. They settled us in, gave us restaurant suggestions and even prepared the fireplace in our room for our return from dinner. Breakfast was superyummy, and before we checked out that morning they helped us arrange a room in the next town we were driving to. I wish we'd had more time to stay there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachelinKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 63 in Franschhoek
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Property: Plumwood Inn
Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing