We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumwood Inn
Ranked #11 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in April. Weather was extremely hot so we made good use of the lovely pool. Air con and wifi worked very well and it's incredibly comfortable and we had a beautiful view from the balcony of our room.
Breakfast was varied and delicious and the owners very helpful. We'd go back.

Stayed: April 2014
6  Thank baldnavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Plumwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 524 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay, it is really central, we walked in and out of town everyday it was great not too have to drive to and from dinner in the evenings. The rooms are lovely and very clean, the service is excellent and the staff are a pleasure to deal with, my husband and I were upgraded to a more expensive and nicer room free of charge because they were not busy, we were taken to a really spacious room with a great view and a little balcony, the room also had beautiful, big bathroom with a great shower and big bath. We had a great experience and would most definitely recommend the Plumwood Inn to anyone looking for great accommodation in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our 2nd stay in Franschhooek, and can honestly stay next time we come back, will try to make sure we get a room here - it really is an outstanding guest house.

We made the initial booking months ago, and the comms from the team were friendly and informative, making sure we had booked the type of room we wanted (we had mistakenly gone for a traditional room but had then opted for one of the newer Villas instead of the main house - the Villa was a great choice although the main house does look lovely in a more traditional way) and suggestions on trips and places to eat - we couldn't wait to arrive, and were not disappointed!

Check in was very personal as we were asked about what sort of food we liked and given even more recommendations for restaurants and things to do, as well as a tour round the lovely property and gardens, with an explanation about the lounges, and the honour bar etc - we felt really welcome from the start.

The upstairs Villa Room was stunning, it was large, bright and sunny, and with contemporary black and white decor, high quality fittings, spotless huge bathroom and a full wall of white shutters opening onto a stunning large balcony with uninterrupted views over the mountains, it was also only few short steps down to the pool.

In the morning, you could help yourself to a varied cold buffet or the owners would cook a hot breakfast to order, whilst stopping for a chat and checking if we had dinner reservations ! (it can be difficult to get a table in some places without one) and were quick to confirm our bookings - we were able to get a table every night at some stunning restaurants (which are also very good value compared to prices at home!)

The location of the Plumwood is also ideal - one block behind the main street so only a couple of minutes walk (up a well lit street) to be in the centre of the village - we were also only a 20min walk along a quiet tree lined road from the Mont Rochelle Vineyard which does a lovely picnic - it was great not to worry about the car with all the wine tasting. We didn't touch the car the entire time we were there as also took full advantage of the great new Franschhoek Wine Tram!

Thought it was amazing value for money for overall quality, location and experience. We stayed 4 nights here and it was the same price as what we paid for 3 nights at a guest house in Stellenbosch this trip - the Plumwood wins hands down for our next stay in the Winelands!

Room Tip: The Villas are stunning, request one upstairs for a great view of the mountains
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cruzkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I really liked the Plumwood Inn. It was, in fact, the nicest place we stayed in South Africa. The rooms are warm and inviting, and spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a large bath and separate shower. The location is great for exploring Franschhoek. The gardens are beautiful. The breakfast was great. The owners were helpful in providing restaurant recommendations and ideas for things to see and do. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendrusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This gem of an inn deserves all the praise it gets. Lucienne, Christopher and Paul could not do enough for us, they helped us with dinner reservations, a wine tour and just general information about the area. The breakfast was lovely with a choice of hot and cold foods. We were in the main house in the standard room which was fine for 2 days but when we go back I would book the superior rooms in the new annex as they all have a patio or balcony. The small pools were lovely to laze around after a day of exploring the area before heading out for dinner.
Highly recommend to anyone wishing to spend time in the wine area - 2 days was not enough!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our first experience in Franschhoek. We were thrilled with the Plumwood Inn - the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, the location is perfect for walking into the village. We will definitely plan to stay there again and will recommend it to our friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, the room and bathroom were huge and immaculate ! We were on the ground floor of the newer annex and therefore also and a beautiful veranda overlooking the beautiful garden. The innkeepers were very helpful in assisting with recommendations and bookings for restaurants and a horse riding tour of the vineyards that was on our list of things to do. We throughly enjoyed our breakfasts served on the veranda. There is an honesty bar which we used while chilling by the beautiful pool in the afternoons. As a guest we also had discounted access to a very good local gym. The inn is perfectly located on a quiet road within a short distance of the main road and all the restaurants and bars. The housekeeping staff were exceptional , the innkeepers have covered every detail to make a stay as perfect as possible. We would highly recommend Plumwood and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#6 of 64 in Franschhoek
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $92 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing