We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property”
Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at Plumwood in torrential rain which was a bit disappointing as the scenery around the area is beautiful. After a friendly welcome from Christopher we settled in our lovely room with underfloor heating in the bathroom, hoping the rain would go off but when it became apparent that this wasn't going to happen we ventured out using the umbrellas supplied for a coffee and something to eat. We went to Taki's for our evening meal as it was close by and found it to be extremely friendly and they served good food. We had a lovely breakfast the next morning in the main house, the gardens are fantastic and must be brilliant in the summer. We went into town and had pancakes at the Famous Pancake House then booked the wineries trip on the hop on/off tram R150 each. We really enjoyed it and did wine tasting at two of the stops. We had our evening meal at Dutch East and had lovely steaks, we thoroughly recommend it. Plumwood is ideally situated for the town and local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevieBis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
421
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
595 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in May in a luxury room upstairs in one of the newer buildings at the back of the property that fronts onto Wilhelmina Street. Property extends through from Cabriere Street to Wilhemina Street, the latter running parallel to, but one street back from, the main road - Huguenot Road. There were 16 steps from the ground to the first floor.

Room was very large with a comfortable king-size bed, large and small pillows, sufficient cupboard hanging and drawer space, 2 armchairs, a desk and chair, heating, air conditioning, DVD player, satellite TV, a small safe (albeit operated with a key) and free WIFI which we didn't have any issues with. Room also had an intercom/security system and coffee/tea making facilities.

Our room opened onto a huge balcony with two chairs and a table that overlooked the property's beautiful gardens and well kept swimming pools and also gave great views of the hills and mountains beyond.

The bathroom was huge with a large shower (good pressure), separate bath, twin hand basins, bidet and a heated floor. Both our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean.

We had off road secure (behind a sliding gate) parking from Wilhelmina Street.

Breakfast was a continental buffet (cereals, yoghurt, cold meat, cheeses, smoked salmon, pastries, bread, juice, fruit salad, filter coffee) plus a hot offering (including eggs, tomato, mushrooms, bacon, toast) that was cooked to order by Lucienne.

Breakfast was eaten in a common dining area in the newer buildings at the back of the property. There was also a common guest lounge room here with an honour system for wine, other drinks and snacks.

A laundry service was provided at a quite reasonable cost.

Location is excellent. A couple of minutes walk to the main road where there is an abundance of restaurants and gift/craft shops and within a 10 to 15 minute drive of a multidude of very good wineries.

Roel and Lucienne were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is wonderful. The rooms are spacious & warm. The bathroom was amazing, I've not had such a beautiful bath with bath salts for 20 years. A shower suite to boast about. The owners offer their personal attention. The breakfasts are far from ordinary, every morning there was something different and special. Excellent coffee too. Safe parking. Beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended, you will not be disappointed at all. Attention to detail in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gibo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Asolutely loved Plumwood Inn. Perfect location; just a few minutes walk into town. Spacious, comfortable, clean rooms with great attention to detail. Robes in the fabulous bathroom with lovely soaps, loads of towels and a great shower. Our room (No 4) had a log burner, balcony, and awesome views of the mountains. The gardens were lovely with two pretty pools (too cold in winter!). Breakfast was delicious and the lovely owners and their manager Christopher went out of their way to make our stay very special. They organised a full day of wine tasting for us (paired with olives, chocolate and cheese!) which was brilliant. Christopher recommended La Bonne Vivante Restaurant; we treated ourselves to the 5 course "surprise" menu, with wine, which was one of the best meals we have ever had and so pretty! Recommend Plumwood without any hesitation at all.

Room Tip: No 4 is upstairs with fabulous views and log burner but all the rooms were well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A beautiful property! We were blown away by the quality of the accommodations and the service provided by the owners. The continental breakfast, prepared by the owners, was fantastic! The rooms were spacious, clean, and warm (given that it was winter when we visited). The views are outstanding, as well. Our only regret is that we weren't able to stay any longer than 2 nights. Hoping to get back here someday soon! Don't miss out on this special place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved Plumwood Inn. Could not do enough for you, understand their customers & make recommendations catering for each guest. Beautiful breakfasts, bedrooms are fantastic, tastefully decorated. Lovely balconys to relax on. So easy to walk to any part of Franschoek. Great wine walks recommended, picnics & restaurants. Loved Plumwood Inn was sorry to go after 4 fantastic nights. Ran by two great people!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and the accommodation was very comfortable and being in winter the heating was good. Christopher and his staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was always good. The location is excellent and is walking distance from the main street. We will most certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Property: Plumwood Inn
Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing