We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stop”
Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quick stop”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Lovely place to stay, our visit was short as we arrived late due to weather. The owners were there to greet us and get us settled. They offered very good ideas as to where to go in our short time in town. They even got up early to prepare breakfast and see us off the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank baldwin604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
421
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
No. California
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This room was fantastic in every way. Comfortable bed, contemporary look, one of the best bathrooms ever with lots of space and three shower heads. The view could be enjoyed inside or on the deck. Nice to be inside with a cozy fire during a rain storm. Also an easy walk to great restaurants. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 100db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just really want to confirm the overwhelmingly positive reviews for this property to date.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 8: it is the only room on a mezzanine above the living room of the old house, so was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dannyt986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed in the luxury room on the last night of our holidays and it was a fantastic end to a South African trip!
The hotel has a great location (2 minute walks to the centre of town)
The room itself was spacious with super-king bed and ultra-modern bathroom. The pictures on the Plumwood Inn website really do not do justice to the property or the rooms.

Staff were very helpful for all requests (bookings, logistics etc).

Breakfast was good but not outstanding.Overall, we really wished we could have stayed longer to take advantage of this gorgeous accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_Gooseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We loved our stay at the Plumwood Inn. The house and our room were beautiful and wonderfully contemporary. We were comfortable and happy. The service was excellent, stunning views and great breakfast.They have a selection of about 100 dvd's you can borrowfor free.Free and fast wireless internet all over the place. Two pools, one small and a bigger one where you can do some laps. I think this pool is about 10 meters long. One of the biggest advantage of plumwood inn is that they are only 2 minutes from the main road. Actually they are around the corner of the tasting room.
I will be back and can recommend everybody to stay here.

Room Tip: Take any of the luxery rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TUSRK1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Friends of ours recommended this place. Although we know their taste a bit, it is always tricky the time you go to a place yourself. I have to confirm that our friends do have a very good taste.
From the moment we came in we were surprised. The views,the room and bathroom, the breakfast, the friendly staff and owners who run the business with their heart.They help you with recommendations to eat,visiting beautiful vineyards, horse riding, ask them as they are for more than 10 years in town. If you go to franschhoek this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was our second stay at Plumwood and it won't be our last. We drove there straight from the airport and got a friendly welcome and even though it was only about 10 am our room was ready for us in about half an hour - whilst we were waiting we were served a coffee and a savoury home baked muffin. It is an excellent guest house right in the middle of Franschhoek. We stayed in a deluxe room in one of the villas - it was very well decorated, clean with a very comfortable bed and great bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The owners are very friendly and helpful giving advice on restaurants, wineries etc.. the view from the balcony is stunning. There is private secure parking.
It is right in the middle of the village and walking distance to restaurants shops and some wineries. We walked to Mont Rochelle one afternoon.
I definitely recommend staying here if you are in Franschhoek.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mw104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Property: Plumwood Inn
Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing