We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very peaceful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plumwood Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Plumwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

Plumwood Inn is an extremely good guesthouse, it is perfectly situated close to the centre of Franschhoek. It is a very peaceful place, and has a wonderful quiet garden. There are very comfortable sunbeds by the swimmingpool. The owners are great and very helpful, and so is Hazel. The staff is very friendly and have a smile on their face the whole day. Roel and Lucienne have done a wonderful job with the Plumwood Inn, they are running the guesthouse for 7 years now and couldn't have done a better job. They are very nice hosts. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well thought of. 4 stars is under-rated. Lovely rooibos soaps a lotions in the bathroom.
We had a great meal at Reubens and also at The Franch Connection and a nice lunch at the winery Mont Rochele which you can all walk to from the guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Huupies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
414
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

We had the most wondeful stay at the Plumwood Inn. LOvely rooms, beautiful bathroom, very friendly owners and a superb breakfasst. At check-in Raoul gave a very good information about what we could do in the area and where to eat out. We had a very good dinner at French Connection and also at Le bon vivante. We really felt at home at Plumwood. One evening we sat with the owners in the lounge by the fire place and had a lovely talk about how they ended up in South Africa etc. There are 2 swimming pools but unfortunately is was middle of winter so we couldn't swim. The place is ideally situated, only 5 minutes walking to most of the restuarants. We will recommend this place to anybody which goes to south africa.

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Disliked — the cold weather
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank kukskes6267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

Yes, it is very nice. The decor, the bathrooms and the breakfast. However, did you ever feel you were in the way? My wife and I were on honeymoon here. We arrived off season and our hosts portrayed exactly that. Tired and indifferent. We are not fussy and really prefer to be left alone but for the price we paid we did not like being made feel uncomfortable and to a large extent in the way. We were happy to leave and move on with our trip, allowing them some needed R&R. Cash only deal of course. We would not go back and do wish we had spent those couple of day elsewhere. Of course the not mentioned building works helped neither.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Owners attitude
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank freeflyrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

We had the most wonderful experience at Plumwood Inn. We booked a standard room, and at check in, the owner informed us we could have a free upgrade, as it was during the week and quiet. The room was really wonderful, with nice satin curtains, beautiful crispy bedlinen, satelite TV and private parking next to our room. We got a remote control for the gate where we parked our car, it was more than we had ever dreamed of! The room had a fire place which was very cosy and romantic.
The room was already warm because the underfloor heating was on.
I have never seen a bathroom like this: large shower with jets, bath with a handshower (very rare in South Africa) and beautiful basins. The tiles were a lovely cholaty colour, but it didn't make the room dark at all.
Breakfast was the best ever, with homemade muffins, a chocolate bananacake, lovely fruit salads and nice crispy rolls.
We could have ordered hot breakfast as well, but there was too much choice already.
Unfortunately we could not use the attractive swimming pool because it was raining and cold, but we'll go back soon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank sunnylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2007

We had the most wonderful time at Plumwood Inn in Franschhoek. The best sheets on the beds, nice and crispy and lovely smelling. The guesthouse is extremely clean and little touches really make the difference. They really thought of anything.
All rooms have TV and a hair dryer and safe.
Roel & Lucienne at Plumwood Inn provided us with the best breakfast of anywhere we stayed in South Africa (which in general were excellent). The best and nicest looking different fruit salads, yoghurts and 4 different cereals, nuts, croissants, rolls, whole wheat bread, home made muffins, cold meats and cheese, and home made preserves.
On top of that, there is a cooked breakfast to choose from.

The two swimming pools are really luxurious and nice for a good streched swim before breakfast. Lying there in the afternoon is very relaxing, you only hear the birds, it is very quiet. For dinner at night, you don't need to walk more than 5 minutes. We stayed 6 nights and had 6 wonderful dinners (and 3 excellent lunches so we need to start dieting now...)

Finally, I'd just like to say how lovely Roel & Lucienne, the owners, are. At breakfast, they are both there and help planning your day. Ask them for advice on anything, they are both perfect hosts, and they have a lovely assistent Hazel, she is also very nice and helpfull and did anything to make our stay more memorable. We couldn't possibly imagine staying anywhere else in Franschhoek, and will be returning to The Plumwood Inn the next time we visit South Africa.
I was so sad when we had to leave that I was close to tears...
I can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Cannot make a choice, I really liked everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank LondonTravellers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2007

Great place in town. Lovely pool and helpful service to book restaurants, etc. Only don't ask for an iron as they don't have any for the guests! Suggest booking the more popular eateries 2 weeks in advance.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank CPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire dales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2007

It's a real nice place to stay. We had fun, enjoyed our meal with Roel and Lucienne and enjoyed the area. Roel knows the best restaurants and places to go. Our room was great, just everything about the place was good. I don't really want to say how good it is because I want to be able to get in next time.

  • Liked — just a nice place
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank raikesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
6.2 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#10 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Property: Plumwood Inn
Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing