We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfortable, Close to Town Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Les Chambres Guest House
Ranked #28 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and Comfortable, Close to Town Centre”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Planned to spend 3 nights and eventually added a 4th. Great spot. Good beds. Very clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was great (very good croissants!), good coffee too!

The guest house is just one block behind the best restaurants of Franschhoek, so in a 5 minute walk you are at the door of either: Quartier Francais, Ryan's Kitchen or Reuben's.

Hosts Sandy and Bill provide good advice if you ask them, being road trips, restaurant visits, local markets, visits to farms, ...

We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookprins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    55
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
165
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Les Chambres is an attractive guest house perfectly located within walking distance of the town's shops and restaurants. Rooms were of a very good standard and breakfast on the garden patio was excellent. Garden and pool offered a pleasant and relaxing environment.
Cats and dog around the premises were not our cup of tea, but probably many wouldn't mind.

Robert & Jean

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay here, wished it could have been for longer. Rooms are lovely as are the surroundings- peaceful garden and pool. The guest house is in a perfect location, just a short walk from restaurants and shops. Also the best cooked breakfast I had in South Africa! Would highly recommend and love to go back. Olivia and Christian

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olivia5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at Les Chambres for 4 night at the start of our trip to South Africa 2nd till 7th February. What a lovely way to start. Lovely guest house with great room and fantastic garden with pool. Sandy was a delightful hostess and made the most wonderful breakfast including her homemade Granola.

The situation was also great about a 2 minute walk to main street.

Certainly would highly recommend this B and B and look forward to returning again.

Graham and Audrey Barclay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2012

What an oasis of calm and luxury after the hustle and bustle that was Cape Town. Room 2 was a corner suite which afforded lots of light combined with traditional fixtures and fittings, very comfortable indeed. Situated very close to the Main street it was a short walk away from many of Franschhoek's superb restaurants. Attention to detail from the owners was very much in evidence, even to the little touch of a jug of iced water on the garden table to help us cool down as we relaxed sunbathing on the garden loungers. In hindsight we wished we could have stayed longer than the 4 nights we had.

Room Tip: Our corner room was very much the business
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

An ideal place to stay in Franschhoek, with Bill and Sandy perfect hosts, and the rooms as good as ever

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westendorf, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Wonderful place and ideally situated. Beautiful gardens, relaxing pool area, plentiful breakfast. Bill is a walking brochure full of information not only on the local area but SA itself. Franschhoek is a pretty, quaint little town with an abundance of good restaurants. If you are not happy here you will not be happy anywhere. Lots of wine tasting in and around the surrounding areas. We would certainly return to Franschoek and of course to Les Chambres. Many thanks Bill.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyasasamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#20 of 63 in Franschhoek
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centre-Ville Guest House
Centre-Ville Guest House
#25 of 63 in Franschhoek
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#22 of 63 in Franschhoek
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
#51 of 63 in Franschhoek
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres Guest House

Property: Les Chambres Guest House
Address: 3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old Victorian house that has been lovingly restored provides the setting and attentive hosts provide the rest. Les Chambres is situated within easy walking distance of the main road and is less than two minutes' walk from the top Cape Winelands restaurants.Spacious and comfortable rooms, together with personal service make for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Chambres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing