We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chambres Guest House
Ranked #29 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2011

An ideal place to stay in Franschhoek, with Bill and Sandy perfect hosts, and the rooms as good as ever

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 229 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

Wonderful place and ideally situated. Beautiful gardens, relaxing pool area, plentiful breakfast. Bill is a walking brochure full of information not only on the local area but SA itself. Franschhoek is a pretty, quaint little town with an abundance of good restaurants. If you are not happy here you will not be happy anywhere. Lots of wine tasting in and around the surrounding areas. We would certainly return to Franschoek and of course to Les Chambres. Many thanks Bill.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyasasamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Excellent accommodation, good breakfast and good advice on things to do in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joh921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Les Chambres is a warm and friendly place where owners Bill and Sandy go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Sandy cooked fabulous breakfast for us during our stay and even tried on a new recipe for Indian food for us. Bill was very helpful in giving out great tips on vineyards and helped us explore the area to its fullest

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sportzmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were made to feel so special. Our hosts went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were really comfortable and spacious and the general environment was conducive to re-kindling our love and time alone. Very romantic, and loved the bath.

Room Tip: Underfloor heating, large victorian bath, sooooo romantic. The rooms have no TV, great so focus is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a lovely place – the town is pretty, as is the house and its gardens. Although the town is small and everywhere is an easy walk, Les Chambres is at the better end of town – both in terms of attractiveness and proximity to restaurants. The only negatives are that the rooms are not in the house itself, but immediately adjacent in small side buildings – but then, the house would be too small to accommodate the good sized rooms that are on offer – and the price, which is perhaps a little steep, but then again Africa is surprisingly expensive!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Hotel_Snob_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Les Chambres is a charming, beautifully appointed guest house in a beautiful part of SA. Sandy and Bill are friendly and most accommodating hosts. We felt very comfortable and relaxed and only wished we had planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erynn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
13.3 mi away
Boschenmeer Grande Lodge
Boschenmeer Grande Lodge
#13 of 42 in Franschhoek
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 64 in Franschhoek
381 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#22 of 64 in Franschhoek
291 reviews
4.4 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#19 of 64 in Franschhoek
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres Guest House

Address: 3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $117 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old Victorian house that has been lovingly restored provides the setting and attentive hosts provide the rest. Les Chambres is situated within easy walking distance of the main road and is less than two minutes' walk from the top Cape Winelands restaurants.Spacious and comfortable rooms, together with personal service make for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Chambres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing