We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value for money”
Review of Twin Oaks B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Oaks B&B
Ranked #56 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible value for money”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Maybe it is because the South African rand is currently weak or the dollar is strong but we thought this was one of the best all time bargains we've ever had. Excellent location, friendly service and refreshing and comfortable rooms. Places like these would fetch 4-5x the price in the states. A well kept secret.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GFtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

We are just back from a 2 week trip to SA and really wanted to go to Franschhoek to eat at Le Quartier Francais and to visit vineyards like Boschendal. However, Franschhoek is considerably more expensive than Cape Town and as we wanted to splash out on good fbood and wine during our visit we were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay.

Twin Oaks is clean, friendly, well located (3 mins walk to the main street), has a handy little plunge pool, and is the cheapest guesthouse we found in Franschhoek. It's not glamorous but if you're looking for a good value place to stay for a night or two, I would definitely recommend it.

My only two quibbles are that there was no air-con in our edroom, and the limited breakfast time; i.e. it was served between 8.15 and 9am, which is quite early if you've had a late, gourmet meal! However, Mike & Sandra are polite & helpful, so if we'd asked for a later breakfast they may have said yes.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — No air-con
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fionapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwinoaksFranschhoek, Owner at Twin Oaks B&B, responded to this review, July 25, 2008
As a 3 star TGCSA registered provider, my comment is: travelers should not expect air conditioning & (cheap accommodation) air conditioning is not allways available even at 4 star providers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Twin Oaks is situated in a quiet street just off the main street. The shops of Franschhoek were within walking distance and several wineries within easy reach.

Sandra and Mike were very welcoming and keen that we should enjoy our stay. For example, when they learned we were attending a wedding, they immediately offered the use of an iron.

Our room had tea-making facilities, hairdryer and a big bathroom with an amazing amount of storage. The pool was just as described and a very pleasant place to chill out.

The breakfast was excellent - pretty much anything you wanted.

A nice stay and very reasonably priced, especially for Franschhoek.

  • Liked — Helpful owners
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank silvertravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin_Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

Lovely quiet B&B run by a great couple (Mike and Sandra). We loved it so much we extended our stay from 3 to 5 nights. OUr room was bright and airy and the outside area had a lovely pool and deck for sun bathing.
A short walk from the village, this place had an excellent location. Franschoek can be quite pricey for accommodation and staying in Twin Oaks was a more reasonably priced alternative and well worth it!

You can make a booking with Twin Oaks by e-mailing: miked@xsinet.co.za

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank Emma_Mu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.2 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cottage on 55
The Cottage on 55
#37 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Daniella
Auberge Daniella
#24 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Oaks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Oaks B&B

Property: Twin Oaks B&B
Address: 41 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike & Sandra would like to welcome you to Twin Oaks, which can accommodate 5 guests in: two Queen bedrooms with bath en-suites & a single bedroom with shower en-suite. Twin Oaks is just a short walk to restaurants & shops. Built in the late 1800s - early 1900s, Twin Oaks was at one stage a Farriers cottage; the land on which it stands was purchased by Jacob Fleur in 1858. Off road parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing