We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING service from Conrad and especially Franklin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING service from Conrad and especially Franklin”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at The Last Word as part of our honeymoon, and from the moment Franklin welcomed us to the hotel we knew we had made a great choice.

The hotel itself is charming, and at once you feel at home. We stayed in room 6, which had a nice little patio and was very charming. The food, from the desserts adorning our pillows at night, to the breakfast in the morning was very good, and we were very content and comfortable.

To top things off, I can't say enough good things about the staff. Even before our stay, Gail (who presumably works in an office handling reservations) was very helpful in recommending restaurants and things to do. Franklin welcomed us in a perfect way, and Conrad was keen to ensure we had everything we needed.

Definitely recommend staying here if you get the chance.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjwukc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    51
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
380
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney, aus
Level Contributor
149 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at The Last Word Franschhoek over Christmas and Conrad and his staff were immensely hospitable - nothing was overlooked in making our stay a comfortable and pleasurable one.

I didn't love the decor in the main living areas but that's a matter of taste. We didn't really use this room much but I personally thought it could have been laid out a little more comfortably. Our room however was great - a really good size and very well appointed. The food was also very good - they really laid it on for Christmas and made the day very special.

The open bar is a nice touch - it was lovely to have a quiet sundowner on the upstairs deck before heading out to dinner. The Last Word is really well located (set back from the main street) which makes it easy to walk to dinner at some top notch restaurants.

Franschhoek is such a beautiful town and definitely worth a visit. I would stay here again - it's a great boutique hotel with very warm service and in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This place lives up to its name it really does have the last word!!!
Unbelievable!!!! Every last detail and more was covered. The staff were out of this world!
Perfection of the highest degree!!!
Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Our "pool suite" room was breathtaking. You'd have to go to Paris for more exceptional croissants. The service was so way beyond our expectation, it was as if we had our own house in Franschoek, but better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Last Word Franschhoek for three glorious nights. The boutique hotel seemed like an oasis hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the main street. The accommodation was spacious and extremely comfortable and full marks must go to Conrad and his staff for providing a level of service which couldn't be bettered. Franklin, in particular, was a gem. Friendly and helpful without being obtrusive, he couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The fact that the hotel has only six rooms means that everyone is made to feel special. The breakfasts were superb with a menu to suit every taste. We have no regrets about choosing The Franschhoek and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordofthemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our stay here was wonderful. The personal attention from Conrad and Franklin was faultless: nothing was too much trouble. The rest of the staff were equally good. We were going to stroll down the street to Ruebens, but it started to rain, so Franklin took us down and picked us up.
Our room was the standard suite, which was a reasonable size and well furnished. The indoor sitting area here looks out though glass doors onto the small (communal) pool, but is at one end so remains fairly private. All the usual fixtures and fittings including a well stocked, free, mini bar. Not that you need it after the wine tasting.
The breakfast menu was excellent and again nothing was too much trouble. The croissants were superb and the range of hot items catered for all tastes.
The hotel is tucked away off the main street, but is in a great position for the local restaurants. For those a little further away, the car service provided by the hotel turned out to be free (up to a 5Km radius I think, certainly as far as “Bread and Wine”).
On our last night it was lovely to return to the rose petal and candles in the room, with a bottle of wine.
This has definitely earned a place in or list of favourite hotels, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were thoroughly spoilt. A warm welcome from Franklin and his team and after a few days we met Conrad. Cannot praise the hotel and the staff enough. Thanks for having us it was great. Hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing