We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
538
62
18
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
538
62
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool suite mini desserts creme brûlée free bar small hotel the main street boutique hotel our honeymoon each evening attention to detail within walking distance turn down service middle of town his team sparkling wine complimentary drinks stayed here for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here recently for 3 nights and what a great little hotel! We arrived before check in but we were greeted at the gate by Conrad and shown to our room early which was welcome after travelling - although not from too far! Our room was beautiful and we had access to the pool and lovely little conservatory type area. The turndown was delightful as we came back each evening to miniature puddings on the bed - what a treat! Conrad was very helpful with dinner suggestions and he talked through what we had planned with us to make sure we were going to be able to maximise our time there. The hotel also has lots of lovely little touches like a fully stocked minibar, bottles of wine in the room, decanters of sherry and port can be found in the reception area, along with a bar that you can help yourself to. Breakfast was amazing. The menu was small but lots of exciting options and anything could be changed to make it veggie. We also asked for egg on toast and they were more than happy to do that. The continental selection was a treat - warm fresh pastries (the chocolate twist is a must!), yoghurt, granola, berries, fruit, cheeses etc. We were made to feel right at home at The Last Word and we couldn’t fault our stay at all. It’s in a central location and has parking if you are driving. Would highly recommend if you’re thinking of visiting Franschhoek.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sarahharrison86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sarahharrison86,

Thank you so much for this amazing feedback! I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and in Franschhoek. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in room 6, a pool suite, what a room! Excellent welcome by informative and helpful staff. Room has bath and separate shower, two vanity sinks, a lounge area, a private terrace and plunge pool. Very surprised and pleased with the standard of quality of the carpet and fittings in the room. Highly recommended. Secure parking. Entrance a bit difficult to find, immediately before franschhoek live craft centre and opposite Bicccs Cafe on Huguenot Road. For those not in a pool suite the is a communal pool and sun loungers. Premium drinks are included and located In the pleasant lounge area. Being in the wine making region there is a red and white wine in your room.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank levyashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear levyashin,

Thank you for this fantastic feedback from your time with us in Franschhoek! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

Located in the heart of charming Franchoek, this 10 room boutique hotel is as good as it gets. Intimate, warm, friendly, casually elegant, chilled, harmoniously decorated, light , AND the best French toast I've ever had.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LightningWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Dear LightningWolfe,

Thank you for this great feedback! We hope to see you again soon, for more French Toast!

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. Very good room with an excellent breakfast. No complaint whatsoever during our two night stay other than an observation that to have a relatively few items of clothing laundered did cost over £60 and it would possibly have been cheaper to go to the local market and buy new items. All prices are shown on the laundry sheet (which I didn't study) so entirely my own fault.
Otherwise 5 star.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank douglas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Dear douglas77,

Thank you for this great feedback, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for one night as part of our honeymoon trip in SA. Location was great for wine tasting tram tour. Service was fab and breakfast was lovely. Room was great but didn’t get much of a chance to enjoy it.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AmandaBrown1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kels_L_V, Guest Relations Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2019

Dear AmandaBrown1987,

Thank you for this great feedback from your time with us in Franschhoek! I am thrilled to hear how thoroughly you enjoyed your time in the village and the surrounding wine farms.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews