We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Last Word Franschhoek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Franschoek for 2 nights recently and had a wonderful stay. Having stayed at some of their other properties, the high standards are evident throughout. The hotel is very convenient and one can easily walk to all of the restaurants within the town. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. I would wholehaertedly recommend this and the other hotels within the group.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiffCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    48
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
363
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Does this property have some good points. Yes, it does but the negatives we encountered far outweigh any consideration of a return visit.

1. We asked that restaurant reservations be made over a month and half in advance of our arrival. On the morning of our second dinner we were told that our choice for that night was closed and that they had made a booking at another restaurant. At 8:30 AM that same morning I told Franklin, the assistant manager, that we had no intention nor desire to eat at that restaurant. I gave him our mobile number and asked him to make alternative arrangements. When we returned after a day of wine tasting, Franklin did not approach us or say anything. When I approached Franklin he said - "you don't want to eat at XXX?".

2. There are several notes on this site on this property and the effectiveness, or lack thereof of Franklin, the assistant manager. Believe the reports. Ineffective and unresponsive.

3. We were put in contact with Gail of Last Word, the managing organization, for The Franschhoek. She told me she had sent an email. Oh really? Worse, when I told her we would just get a pizza from the place next door she offered to have it "paid for" by Franklin. To be "paid for" meant - FOC - wrong, it was part of the bill at checkout.

4. There are several notes on this site about the "private pool". We would like to reinforce the accuracy of those reports. First, the pool was dirty when we arrived and every day we were there - leaves, bugs, etc. On the other hand, the public pool was not. Given the same surrounding vegetation it was clear they just did not bother. See the attached photo.

5. Private pool. Not even close. These is a partition that does not significantly block the view from the pool to the other room which it shares. The lady next door, sans some clothing, was very surprised when we spied each other.

Look elsewhere for value, service, and honesty.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

Having read the earlier reviews I do not understand their complaints. We found it wonderful. The entrance does not look welcoming from the road but as soon as we were through the gate the charm began to show.
Franklin was very helpful and the room, not a superior one, was excellent. A big comfy bed and lots of space.
We too got the candles and rose petals treatment which was charming. The free drinks and nibbles were a surprising touch. It was nice to have a drink at the bar before going out for dinner and chatting to other guests all of who had nothing but praise for the place.
Franklin booked us a table at the French Quarter a short walk away and the meal was excellent. We only stayed two nights and the second was a Saturday, when the town seemed dead and apart from the French Quarter all the other restaurants were very quiet.
An excellent place ful of character.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barneyvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East of England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

Like the other Last Word properties, the Franschoek is stylish, beautifully furnished and offers a country house party ambience. We had one of the pool suites which - in addition to a large bedroom and bathroom - had its own private sun room/conservatory plus a small private plunge pool (about 12` x 8` x 5`deep) with comfortable sun loungers and totally private patio area. Bliss! The staff are both friendly and professional; happy to advise on which wine estates to visit and to make restaurant bookings. Most of Franschoek`s restaurants are within a 5 - 10 minute stroll in the evening so no need to drive unless you want to go further afield. A safe, happy atmosphere. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

Franschoek is famous for its beauty but I have to say when we stayed at The Franschoek, we were tempted never to leave our room to discover it! The Franschoek is situated in the heart of the town, a few minutes from all the gorgeous wine farms which we only managed to discover on our second day after dragging ourselves from our gorgeous room. This boutique hotel has everything you would expect from a five star establishment and more. The food was sublime and our room was breathtaking. With our own pool and a room large enough to host a party, we didn't feel the need to leave! After chatting to the staff who were incredibly knowledgable about what to do in and around town, one mention of 'where should we start?' and we were given a map, directions, suggestions and ideas. Just the thing we needed to get our holiday going. I highly recommend The Franschoek for a stay with a personal touch, , they specialise in the little details that get lost in bigger hotels.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

This is a guest-house, not a hotel. Having just departed a 5-star hotel, we realised too late that guest-houses must be rated differently. This is a compact guest house, situated behind main street shops. Parking is just off the main street. We had a pool room - the pool wasn't heated and was full of leaves, dead flowers, etc and the terrace was small, enclosed by high walls. Bathroom was damp with a strong smell of mildew - we were to have stayed for 3 nights, but left after 2. It's close to local restaurants and the staff are very hospitable and work hard to cater for guests' every requirement but, in visiting the winelands, we wished we'd stayed instead at one of the wine farms and enjoyed the fab views instead, probably would've felt better value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Askew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

Lovely hotel, quiet and friendly. Everything you could possibly want in your room and great location. Decided to stay in for dinner as it was very wet and we were tired after a long drive. Offered a rather restricted choice menu and both opted for fillet steak. We were served very tough rump steak. It was disappointing but we were not charged for the main course and were given a bottle of champagne

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scousecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing