We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Boutique hotal in Franschoek”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Leven , Beverley , UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb Boutique hotal in Franschoek”
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This was the second hotel that we stayed at that is part of the Last Word Group. This was equally as impressive as the Constantia in Cape Town. Nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic room , great breakfast , great loacation, free bar ! We sayed two nights and as per a previous review, got the "candles treatment" with a bottle of wine . Very romantic.
We had two meals whilst in Franschoek. I would highly recomend La Bon Vivant. The 2nd night we ate at Reubens . It was OKJ but not a patch on La Bon Vivant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    51
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
380
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genova
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I have been with my wife two days in the end of august at this Five Star Guest House and i must say that this is one of the best places i have ever been in my life.
Great accomodation, exceptional service, great breakfast, lovely room.
I would surely come back in my next visit in South Africa.
The two managers deserve a note of merit for their warming and professional welcoming.
If you are in Franschoek it is a must.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Our stay couldn't have been better thanks to the wonderful service provided by Conrad & his team.Conrad - the manager at The Franschhoek is a wonderful person.I was on my honeymoon & it was the most personalized service we received in our entire trip to South Africa.The drinks in the mini bar and also in the hotel lounge are complimentary throughout the day.The hotel couldnt be located in a better locality,it is right in the heart of the city with all the restaraunts in a 5-10mins walking radius,also all the wineyards are in a 30 mins driving radius.

On our last night we were pleasantly surprised when we entered our room to find it decorated with around 15-20 candles burning everywhere (including the bathroom) and lovely rose petals scattered everywhere! Conrad also complimented this with a bottle of wine as a very special gesture.

One of the nights we weren't too hungry to go out & eat a full meal,we thought of just watching a movie in our room,Conrad went out of his way to even make us a large bowl of popcorn !

All in all I would highly recommend The Franschhoek to anybody who visits Franschhoek,as long as Conrad is around it will be the best service you can ever get !
Thank you Conrad for making our stay so very special !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jainnamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

The start of our South Africa trip was two nights at the Franshhoek. The warm and genuine welcome displayed by Conrad and his team gave us a perfect start to our holiday. The room was spacious well appointed and comfortable with a sun room and private pool (though shame it was too cold to use) The public areas are cosy and welcoming, the food just right and the little helpful extras make the stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in June 2009 while exploring the winelands area.

Good quality and well run boutique property. Not sure whether to describe it as a hotel or a guest house. It is just a big house that all the guests share – but the owners don’t live there, so it doesn’t have that “guest in someone’s home” feeling (that we find a bit awkward). However, it doesn’t have a restaurant / room service etc which is why it’s not really a hotel in my eyes.

Good room with its own private patio and pool (not much use in June though). Nicely decorated and furnished, but is looking a little tired in areas. It’s a very old building though, so most of this can be written off as “adding character”.

Excellent location for exploring the winelands and within walking distance of lots of good shops and restaurants. Extremely helpful staff for suggesting local wineries and recommending restaurants.

Lots of pictures with this review, so please take a look!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We went on honeymoon and were amazed at the outstanding service that we received from Franklin and Conrad! Our luggage was lost at the airport and Franklin rushed out late at night to purchase us some bathroom essentials at no extra charge and both team members made calls to the airline on our behalf whilst we continued to enjoy our honeymoon.

As well as being a hotel in a fantastic location and with beautiful decor, there were many personal touches included in our stay; rose petals on the bed, complimentary bubbly, a welcoming note and tea lights in the evening, as well as assistance with planning our excursions and making some fantastic dinner reservations.

We were totally delighted with our stay and would highly recommend a stay at this hidden gem in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Just spent a superb two nights at this Hotel. Conrad, the manager and Franklyn the under manager were both so helpful and obliging and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
.
Our suite was very well appointed, with lovely bed lineen and toiletries and all drinks were included - on our last eveing it was a special treat to return to our bedroom, to be greeted with around 40 candles and a lovely bottle of 'bubbly'.

The Franschoekk, together with its sister hotel, the Constantia in Constantia in Capetwon really are the "last Word and "hidden Gems" for luxurious hospitality!! Just a wonderful experience from start to finish!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthportLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing