We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed in The Franschhoek early this month and had an absolutely fabulous stay. Conrad and the team couldn't do enough for us, and our room was beautiful. We are fairly high end travellers with very high expectations - all of which were met and exceeded here. A & K

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMJ_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    51
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
373
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights and found the place fabulous. I have to admit that I am normally a big name/5* place adict but having booked this (honestly without realising it was a small guest house) I am a complete convert. Conrad, the manager cannot do enough for you and Franklin who's role is not clear is also wonderful! The room was stunning (although for 2 friends probably not perfect bathroom wise if you want privacy....) - great size, great facilities and absolutely perfectly prepared. The pool is small but beautiful (I think one room here might have it's own pool which I suspect is lovely). The feel of the place is really like a guest house and you very quickly feel at home. Location wise it couldn't be better for the center of franschoek and the great vineyards and restaurants. One of the best places I've stayed in terms of quality of rooms, service and location - if you have the chance to stay here you should....Conrad and his team run a really special place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2009

The place is absolutely fantastic, we booked a superior room with private swimming pool, it was just perfect, very relaxing, very exclusive. The manager Conrad and his team are the cherry on top of the cake; they were very helpful, everything was looked after and the details were just perfect. Thank you so much, we loved it. I have to say Conrad is brilliant and I have never received such level of service in any 5 stars hotel around the world that I have stayed in. The village is very cute and all the wineries are very enjoyable, beautiful food and restaurants, I would recommend to anyone to stay in Franschhoek at The Franschhoek; it's just an experience that everyone should have to reconcile yourselves with all the bad service you might have had before. Merci!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kouros2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

An excellent stay from start to finish. Conrad is an excellent host and the hotel is divine. The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated. The hotel has a beautiful little pool whichis a great place to chill out after a days winetasting. The breakfast is very good and the staff charming. Perfect location. Excellent value. THE place to stay in Franschhoek.

  • Liked — The service and the room.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DublinSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

This is a small hotel (just 6 rooms) in a great location with all of Franschhoek and it's many shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Like many others who have submitted a review the thing that made our stay here was the manager Conrad. He made you feel very welcome and always took the time to give you excellent recommendations about where to visit. Nothing was too much trouble for him or the staff.

The room we had (the honeymoon suite) was huge and opened out onto the pool. It was just a shame there was no outdoor private seating area.

The only thing which lets this place down is the communal areas which I think could be improved and made more stylish - especially the roof terrace which could be really cool.

However for the location and for all Conrads advice I would definitely recommend

  • Liked — Conrad!!
  • Disliked — Communal areas
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2008

this is a small hotel- 6 rooms only. we stayed in a standard room which was enormous by normal standards (large room, private patio garden and spacious bathroom), and way bigger than the suite we had the year before at the quartier francais. Conrad the manager is on hand to make sure every part of your stay runs smoothly- without being simpering and intrusive. Basically, if you're choosing between here and the quartier- go with the Franschhoek. The only downside was that the pool is quite small- but then you're unlikely to be here for the pool...

  • Liked — the room and the service
  • Disliked — small pool (but had it to ourselves)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank katie-likes-holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

Having stayed here 3 years ago, we chose to spent 4 nights at the Franschhoek at the end of November and all we can say is that if anything it was even better than before. We opted for one of the new pool suites and it was excellent, providing private areas for relaxing which we certainly took advantage of. Conrad was fabulous and while being very professional he made you feel like a friend staying at his home. Indeed all of his team went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Peter, the assistant manager, was an excellent host and can certainly keep you entertained with his stories! Carol and all of the housekeeping staff were super and provided whatever you wished for breakfast and nibbles during the day. On our last night they decorated our room with petals and candles with a bottle of bubbly on ice. In fact Conrad had seen some of my husband’s birthday cards on the table (it was his birthday the day before we arrived) and left a bottle of bubbly on ice that night too, which was a really nice touch.

Being right in the village we find the location excellent as you can easily walk to all of the main restaurants in a short time and it allows you to walk off some of the additional calories after your meal! The hotel also has an in house driver who will take you to further afield restaurants or vineyards for a reasonable charge. We used this service one evening when we went to the Dieu Donne restaurant which turned out to be one of the best meals we had during our stay. This is a relatively new restaurant that Conrad had recommended (and booked for us) which has amazing views over the valley. Unfortunately it was just getting dark when we arrived so we did not get the full impact. It may well be a good place to have lunch when you can sit outside on the terrace, although my recommendation would be to certainly lunch at La Petite Ferme which was again excellent on this visit.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Franschhoek to all of our family and friends should they get the opportunity to visit SA. The hotel is small and intimate and feels much more like someone’s home (I wish it was ours!) rather than a hotel. We wanted to chill out more during this holiday and found it very easy to do here. When we left we felt that we had left behind a number of new friends and hope to return again soon.

  • Liked — Wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AyrPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing