We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stay in this boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
1 review
“First class stay in this boutique hotel”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We whole heartily recommend this very professional luxury hotel for its friendly attentive staff lead by Conrad who will make you most welcome and will offer excellent local advice
It's ideally situated in the centre of town but just sits back enough to feel quiet and peacefull but perfect for catching the wine tour which is a must .
A real oasis of luxury and charm

Room Tip: All stylish and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    51
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
380
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights using this as a base to visit the Franschhoek and Stellenbosch areas...so much to see and do, so little time. As with The Last Word in Constantia the welcome was very warm and the manager was very helpful suggesting places to visit and eat. The hotel is one of the earliest buildings in Franschhoek and has lots of character with very suitable decor. Our room was large and had underfloor heating. There was a free bar and a nice lounge area and seats around the pool. The view from there was of the surrounding hills. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is in the centre of the town so we walked to a different restaurant each evening and felt very safe. No restaurant but there are so many in walking distance that it doesn't matter. We strongly recommend the hotel for a relaxed, informal stay in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms are all very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiplake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We could not fault this hotel it was fantastic! We had a warm welcome and a restaurant was booked for us that evening. I took so many pictures of all areas of this hotel as the decor was beautiful. There is such attention to detail.
Turndown service was very good, not just a chocolate left but a lovely little mousse or creme brûlée. The staff were excellent and would bring a nice tray of tea etc to your room after a day out if requested.
Breakfasts were delicious and there was a special on the menu every day. Franklin was the manager in attendance there for most of our stay. He was very friendly and helpful. He told us lots of information and history about the hotel and area.
Our room was absolutely divine with a few little surprises laid on for our last night.
Whilst staying we went on the wine tram and toured the wineries plus museum, great fun although I couldn't drink all the wines.
We will definitely find an excuse to come back here one day. The final touch was all the staff, from the kitchen as well all came out to say goodbye to us on our departure.
Loved it, this hotel should be very proud of it's achievements.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, ours was excellent and had a pretty little courtyard garden. There is one ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGARTON797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeg, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at "The Last Word", including our 25th wedding anniversary. The level of comfort, totally relaxed and peaceful atmosphere and attention to detail at this small hotel are second to none. We have never experienced this level of wonderful friendly, helpful service anywhere else, and we have stayed at much more expensive and allegedly superior hotels.
Franklin and his small team were 'simply the best'. Nothing was too much trouble and his recommendations for 'wine tasting' and restaurants were absolutely 'spot on' .
We stayed in Room 1 which I think was the most luxurious (although I didn't see inside the others). We had our own private patio area, looking out on to the pool, where we took breakfast privately one morning - and what a splendid breakfast it was!
If you like the small friendly type of hotel then I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Book Room 1 if it's available. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HausBergheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here three nights in October as part of our honeymoon. We had Franklin on the front desk the first couple of nights and then Conrad. We found both to be really helpful and friendly the entire time.

We stayed in one of the superior double rooms and it was amazing. There are so many little details that make it really comfortable and you just feel 'at home'.

The unlimited drinks concept is nice. I've read some complaints about the choice of alcohol but I would suggest the choice is similar to many mini bars in boutique hotels we've stayed at. They don't have any 25yr malt whiskies but that's hardly surprising.

The breakfast in the morning is really nice and all the staff are attentive.

We can't fault the hotel, however we did book a wine tour which is provided exclusively through The Last Word and this was a terrible experience. The tour was sold to us as a personalised wine tour to boutique producers where we would get to meet the owners. The cost being R1850 per person (and to put that in perspective we found really good bottles of wine from less than R200 but not on the wine tour!), we were expecting a great experience.
We explained to Lisa that we weren't big fans of white or rose wine but really enjoyed red. We also told her which french wine we like and a few SA reds that we had tried and really liked.
The first estate we were brought to was a) not boutique and b) more a white wine producer. Here Lisa got us to try 5 white wines and 1 red wine. We didn't complain as this was just 1 tasting in an entire day of tasting. We considered buying olive oil here as my father loves it. Lisa instead recommended that we visit another estate that produces olive oil and wine.
This turned out to be a good 45min drive, quite away from the Stellenbosch area. Here we tried the olive oil, unlike the previous estate they only produced one variety of olive oil but that didn't bother us too much as we were more keen on wine tasting. Lisa asked if we liked Rose, we reminded her again that we were not big fans but if she recommended this Rose we would definitely try it. After trying the Rose, she asked if we liked it, we replied we didn't particularly like it, to which Lisa said: "well if you don't like Rose then you'll never enjoy this".... Hmmm thanks for that insight Lisa!
We then stopped for a rather average lunch, we had to stop Lisa ordering a white wine for lunch but rather than try a nice red she decided to order some JC Le Roux sparkling wine.
After lunch we visited a boutique estate which produce decent wines, they weren't quite to our palate but set a lovely ground. Lisa asked if we wanted to walk around the grounds but I said we should crack on to do more wine tasting. We got back in the transport and then 5 mins down the road Lisa said that we were finished for the day. Really?!? She then told us the tour only had 3 visits and seemed surprised we did not know that.
In the end, we visited 1 boutique wine maker but didn't meet any of the wine makers themselves. This tour is a complete rip off, do not do it.

Despite this terrible wine tour experience, Conrad at the hotel dealt with our discontentment extremely well. He listened to our complaint fully and empathised with what we were saying, he found a way to make us feel less bad about the tour. We were so impressed by how professionally he handled this that we kept our 5-star rating for the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhEarcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the ‘The Last Word’ recently for two nights in late-September. We had an excellent stay and just loved this hotel. I typically don’t rate every hotel I stay as 5/5 unless am super impressed and this one fit the bill perfectly.

1.Room: We stayed in a superior-double room (Room 1 I guess). It was a beautiful room, very elegantly maintained with a small pool-facing patio outside. Room has very warm and modern interiors with interesting light fixtures, hot towel warmers etc. The room includes an open bath and sink space and separate enclosures for shower and toilet areas but they are well situated at the back of bed. The room had a well sized double bed which was quite comfortable and so were the pillows. Overall room felt lovely and spacious.

2.Location: The Hotel is located on the main street (Huguenot Road) close to tourist office and at walking distance from the main dining and restaurant area. We felt quite safe and comfortable walking out in the evening for dinners as we could keep to well-lit main street and didn’t have to negotiate any alleys etc.

3.Breakfast/Drinks: We only had one breakfast (as on our last morning we needed to leave by 8am to make it to Airport). There was a nice cold buffet spread and good variety in hot dishes one could order. In addition, the hotel has a bar and you are free to help yourself with drinks at the bar (complimentary). Also, every time you return to hotel they were quite kind to offer us drinks of our choice and cakes etc.

4.Facilities: Hotel is a very small and intimate setup with just 6 rooms. They have a small pool, more for taking a dip on a hot summer day then for any real swimming. As mentioned earlier they have a complimentary bar close to pool. Parking is within the hotel premises and therefore secured.

5.Staff/Service: We loved the service at The Last Word. We knew we are in for a pleasant stay when we received an email from the hotel within 24 hours of making a booking on booking.com as they requested us to advise any dietary restrictions, request for restaurant bookings etc. Conrad was there to welcome us as soon as we arrived. He was quite warm, offered us drinks, showed us around the hotel, took us to our room and helped us with pointers with regards to dinner timings, good restaurants and preferred wineries etc. Next morning when we enquired for dental kits (which they didn’t carry), he actually went out and bought us a tooth paste immediately which was really thoughtful. On our last night, when we returned from dinner, we had a superb turndown with room decked with candles and a bottle of champagne waiting for us together with nice little pastries. At times a small hotel could feel a bit intrusive but not at The Last Word – they know how to strike the right balance between providing attention and at the same time letting guests have their own space.

This is one place which one just can’t go wrong with and if we get a chance to return to Franschhoek then we know we want to stay at The Last word again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Wanderer_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
537 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I don't give five stars lightly. This place really is the last word in fine service and style. Franklin and Conrad looked after us perfectly, assisted by a great team. Just six delightful bedrooms this is a perfect, tranquil spot in a wonderfully tranquil place. Service was the best. They anticipated our every need and recommended excellent restaurants. The complimentary bar was well stocked, as was the complementary mini bar in the room. Breakfast was one of the best ever. The mushrooms on toast were amazing! This was recommended by Cape Tours. Another excellent choice. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
522 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing