We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Last Word Franschhoek
Nearby Hotels
$192
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$132
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$181
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ashbourne House Guest House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$90
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$274
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$374
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$489
$412
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
$734
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
473
55
14
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
55
14
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suitesmini dessertscreme bruleessmall hotelboutique hotelthe main streetprivate poolour honeymoonfree barattention to detaileach eveningunderfloor heatingturn down servicehis teammiddle of townnothing is too muchwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 548 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband an I stayed there in November for three nights. The rooms were luxurious with a private pool. Every day the service brought to our room fresh flowers and every night there was turn down service which was superb. The breakfast buffet was very sumptous. The staff paid a lot of attention to detail which made our stay even more wonderful. They organized bookings for the restaurants and taxi service and each day the planned little suprises for us such as sparkling wine after dinner, candles in the bathroom and petals. I definitely plan on visiting this place over and over again.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center that's why I had to choose terrible but there is a lot of ather ways to burn some calories.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malgorzata1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks for your very kind review and we at The Last Word are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you're back soon and we look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.
The Last Word family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Words cannot express how pleased I was with my November stay. My husband and I spent 2 blissful nights at the Last Word. We were greeted with a warm welcome by Franklin and company, given a brief orientation of the property, and arrived in our room to find perfectly prepared welcome drinks of our choice. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, open bar, DVD library, and made-to-order cooked breakfast as well as the enormous breakfast spread. Conrad was kind and thoughtful and always ready to lend a hand even though we arrived with a full agenda and advanced restaurant reservations. The room was bright, spacious and comfortable with a lovely bathtub for relaxing. The location right in the village could not be better. I cannot stop thinking about our perfect short stay and am already trying to make plans to return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so very much for your brilliant review and the whole team here is overjoyed that you loved our Intimate Hotel concept and your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
The Last Word family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I have just enjoyed three absolutely amazing nights at this Franschoek establishment. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Conrad to our interactions with Franklin and the rest of the staff we were made not only to feel completely welcome and at home but were also made to feel like movie stars, like we were really special. Nothing was too much and everything was taken care of. The room was beautiful and the absolute attention to detail astounding. On our last evening when we arrived home after dinner at the tasting room (highly, highly recommended) we found our room strewn with rosé petals, candles and a bottle of bubbly. A really wonderful way to end an absolute wonderful stay. The proximity of the hotel to everything in Franschoek was very convenient and the places we couldn't walk to Ellis was nice enough to drive us to. Very sad to have left and we would love to return should the wind blow us in Franschoek's direction any time soon... We are now at the Long Beach establishment of the last word and our review here will follow shortly. To end off if you are ever headed to Franschoek, The Last Word is the place to stay.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AliciaKoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Wow, thanks so much for your incredibly kind words. All of us are so happy you enjoyed our Intimate Hotel and hospitality during your time with us and thanks so much for letting us look after you. Should the wind ever blow you Franschhoek's way again, we hope to welcome you back.
The Last Word family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautifully situated to stroll into town, The Last Word is a quiet little haven. The rooms feel very luxurious and the attention to detail is fantastic; we were there on honeymoon and on our last night we returned from dinner to find they'd put candles all around the bedroom and in the bathroom. Very romantic and such a lovely touch; as every where else we stayed did a standard bottle of bubbly - but this showed real thought and effort. We'll be going back if we return to Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks so much for your great review and all of us here at The Last Word are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and especially our romantic turndown. We hope you return to Franschhoek and The Last Word soon.
The Last Word family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were in South Africa for 10 days and during that time spent a total of 4 nights with The Last Word, two of these spent in The Last Word Franschhoek. What a fantastic place! We were made to feel so welcome and the staff were amazing. Our 2 days in The Last Word Franschhoek were a fantastic end to a wonderful holiday and we really can't thank the staff enough for making our stay so enjoyable. This is a place we will absolutely return to. Thanks again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are so glad you have got to experience The Last Word concept by moving around to more than one of our Intimate Hotels. We look forward to pampering you again soon.
The Last Word family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews