We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Gorgeous accommodation”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a stunning place to stay, the welcome is five star, as are the rooms and the facilities. Conrad and Franklin are gems, thank you for making our stay very special. We had room one, in the main building which had its own access to the pool area. This place is on the main drag, with LOTS of amazing restaurants on offer in such a small town. We did a full day wine tour organized by The Last Word (approx R950pp includes lunch, tasting fees and entry into the wineries) we got our own driver and car (Merc) and a lovely lady called Lisa (Sommelier) who knows so much about the area and the wineries having lived there most her life. We had the most amazing day, recommend to do this. I also love places who let you help yourself to whatever you want from the bar and bring you yummy snacks to go with your drink! Thoroughly recommend The Last Word.

Room Tip: Room one as it has direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind words and all of us here at The Last Word are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and it puts a smile on our faces when we hear special praise like this for the members of our team. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    51
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
391
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We can really recommend a stay at this charming hidden gem in Franschhoek! Situated in the middle of town, you can walk everywhere. The small boutique hotel is lovely decorated - understated luxury, with a warm homely feeling. Rooms are large an cozy, great bathrooms. We stayed in a pool suite with our own pool area, and it was completely private and peaceful. Beds are super comfortable and the every evening we had lots of candles lit for us. So romantic! Service is perfect, and so attentive. Everyone really made us feel at home, and special. We will definately come back for more. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Take a pool suite room for perfect privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks very much for the review and we're so glad you enjoyed our Intimate Hotel in the heart of Franschhoek village. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon for another special stay.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our recent holiday and this hotel is outstanding. The rooms are excellent with a seperate seating area, and the hotel is spacious whilst the pool area is fantastic and a great place to unwind and catch a bit of afternoon sun.

The main difference with this hotel though is the service, from the minute we arrived the care and attention we got were second to none. Conrad and Franklin really go the extra mile , and nothing is too much trouble , with all the staff welcolming and helpful

We had a fantastic stay here and would definitely stay again if we were in this fantastic part of the world

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks so much for your very kind words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Conrad, Franklin and the team look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Franschhoek.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lovely location - fantastic staff. This would be a 5 star rating except the water coming out of the faucets was brown in color. Not pleasant to look - also ran out of hot water before 2nd person could shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We're glad you had a great time and are very sorry to hear about your experience with the water. Unfortunately the water colouration is a problem with the whole of Franschhoek, although we can assure you it is 100% safe. We will also check the geyser straight away to make sure there is no shortage of hot water. Once again, thanks very much for your constructive comments and we hope to see you again soon.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Our room was ready when we arrived an Conrade was very welcoming and his hospitality continued through out our stay.nothing was any trouble. Restaurant reservations to day time time sight seeing he knew it all.

The room was well serviced and as we had expected. Souls recommend and definitely stay here again

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cabsavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We pride ourselves on our central location making it easier to get around the village and Conrad certainly is one of our stars. We're very happy you enjoyed yourselves.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at the Last Word with my husband in August. From the moment we arrived, the service could not have been better. We were made to feel so welcome - as if we were personal house guests. The attention to detail was ...'The Last Word'. A table had been booked for us at a local restaurant which, we were told, we were quite at liberty to cancel; they simply wanted to be sure we had a secure reservation at a good restaurant. We used the reservation and had a very good meal in a lovely restaurant. Our room was sprinkled with petals, there was a comprehensive bar, bottles of wine, our own conservatory with comfy chairs which overlooked the pool and a beautiful roll top bath. The breakfast offered a wide selection on fresh fruits, meats and cereals etc with the addition of a splendid cooked option. Nothing was too much bother to the hosts - seeing we were chilly from a morning walk, fresh piping hot coffee was delived to our room in minutes (without us requesting it). I honestly think if they had it within their capabilities, they would even have arranged he weather!. Every member of staff was cheerful and helpful. This really is the most delightful place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Franschoek.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main (small) pool and with the addition of the sun room, meant that although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Amazing small boutique hotel. Wonderful service. Excellent breakfast! You are truly taken care of here. We stayed in a superior room with a very comfortable bed, small sunroom, large bathtub and double vanities. The hotel is tucked away in the middle of town so has easy access to restaurants. The concierge will book dinner, wine tours and so much more for you. The staff could not be more friendly. We had a delightful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliztangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing