We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our three night stay at The Last Word after exploring Cape Town was a truly delightful experience. Conrad and Franklin are perfect hosts who make you feel very special in this small hotel. Being able to walk down the main street safely to all the restaurants is a big bonus, no shortage of places to eat although some get booked up very quickly in high season. The rooms are amazing especially the pool suites with lots of attention to detail. If you like personal small places to stay then I recommend the 'The Last Word' you know that all rooms are special with good service. I agree with one of the reviews it is expensive but we felt it was worth spending that bit more for our first visit to S Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapinBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 508 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed at "The Last Word" in Franschhoek for three nights at the end of a great two & a half weeks touring in Cape Province and unknowlingly we had kept the very best until last. We can't praise this small hotel enough from the warmth of Franklin's welcome as Senior staff member, to the beauty of our pool room (Room No. 2 - excellent), the fabulous breakfast, the homely but quality decor, the honesty bar a lovely touch. The staff could not do enough for us without being 'in your face' - they arranged three evening meals for us at first class local restuarants within walking distance - they arranged a day out touring vinyards using the hotels own vehicle and taking us where ever we wanted to go. Three words describe this venue and hotel - TRULY FIRST CLASS. Thank you Franklin we do hope to return.

Room Tip: They have two pool rooms each having their own private plunge pools and patio - Rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j4gun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our short two night stay was wonderful. Somewhat expensive, but worth it.
Both Conrad and Franklin provide superb personal service, always available to assist, and constantly looking for ways to make our stay more comfortable.
From the rose petals on our bed on arrival, creme-brule waiting for us on our return from a memorable dinner at Grande Provence, to a small champagne awaiting us the next night, the level of attention to detail was outstanding.
In addition, free internet, free wi-fi and refreshments on call.
And finally, the breakfast was excellent. Even some of my favourite, pickled fish, on offer one morning!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We came to Franschhoek after our stay at their sister boutique establishment in Bishopscourt, Cape Town, and so our expectations were quite high. It doesn't have the view that Bishopscourt had. It's just as delightful, with the added advantage of being almost in the centre of the village, although set back a little from the main road. (actually, it's so discreet it was a little hard to find). Dozens of restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Conrad is the perfect host and you feel as if your are sharing his home. From his relaxed greeting and the infomal registration, you immediately feel relaxed in this beautiful 6 room boutique hotel.
Conrad will book your dinner reservations and knows all the good places to eat (they're are'nt any bad ones though it seems!).
The rooms are lovely and we walked out of our patio straight to the pool. Wonderful!
You are left to do as much of little as you please and its perfect for exploring Franschoek and the surrounding wineries.
The roof top terrace is perfect for a 'sundowner' and maybe they could make slightly more of this facility.
We were sad to leave but will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david1960uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

After driving up and down the main street we finally spotted a sign for The Last Word partially covered by the side of a craft shop. We drove down the drive and were greeted by Conrad who was most charming and informative. He showed us round the property before we reached our room (we were quite a bit early) and offered us a drink and some yummy almond nougat. When he eventually showed us our room, he informed us that we had been upgraded to a pool suite - what a delight!! Massive room with sofa and chairs, private pool, large bathroom and free mini bar. There were also two bottles of wine but with all the wine we had in the restaurants we could not drink them. Franklin (the assistant manager) later advised we could take them away if we wanted (we didn't). He was also a wealth of information and spent ages trying to find a wine estate which provided picnic baskets for lunch (sadly all booked up - you have to book these in advance in season). He arranged transport to Boschendal vineyard with the driver staying with the car for about three hours. The cost - only ZAR200. Breakfasts were deliciuos and there was plenty of choice. On returning from restaurants in the evening we found two desserts left in the room for us. A lovely touch but unfortunately we were a bit full. The cost was a little high but I think it was a price worth paying for such a wonderful find.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterhlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

There are no bad things to say about this absolute gem of a guest house/boutique hotel. My parents had stayed here before and we returned with them as they had rated it so highly and we were not disappointed. My partner and I had one of the rooms with the private pool and it was quite simply the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in.
Conrad and Franklin are the perfect hosts and always on hand if anything was needed. Breakfast was great, the minibar facility was just as good (all complimentary) and we were completely encouraged to treat the place like home. And, as there were such a small number of rooms it was very easy to do so. There aren't many hotels in the world where you can wander out to the lobby (which is more like a sitting room) and help yourself to whatever you want out of the fridge - but in this one you can! And then you can take your drink back to your room and enjoy it while you're getting ready for the evening - just like you would at home.
The internet connection is great, (either wi-fi or the computer available for anyone to use) and the location is perfect - right on the main street and perfect to see the whole of the area. Franklin and Conrad can always recommend restaurants but you can't really go wrong as the standard of restaurants in Franschhoek are so high that you'll always find good food and friendly people.
It was just a shame that we didn't stay there longer or even spend more time in our rooms as the facilities, space and extra touches really were unlike anything we've seen before. The bathroom was huge with two entrances, the private pool area was such a luxury, the beds comfy and the service really was first class.
On the final night before we left (we stayed only three days sadly), the extra touches in our room were much appreciated but completely unexpected (I won't spoil the surprise).
I can't imagine that if anyone stays here and even comes close to receiving the service we did, they would be disappointed, It's pretty much as close to perfect as you can get and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lib874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $278 - $733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing