We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and amazing location. I could have stayed all day!”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #17 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2009

This place was highly recommended and really didnt disappoint. It wasnt a great start as they lost our booking but as they had a table it was quickly forgiven. There isnt many a location to beat this restaurant and sitting on the lawn afterwards looking into the rolling vineyards was beautiful.
My main course of Mediterranean Calamari with couscous was out of this world!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 486 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2009

We loved our stay at the lakeside lodge, attached to the Petite Ferme. The welcome was warm and the actual lodge fantastic. From the iced water waiting for us, well it was 35 degrees outside, to the beautiful fresh flowers in all the rooms it really felt quite special.
We spent a lot of time enjoying the sunsets over the mountains from the balcony. Accomodation included breakfast, which was, as expected excellent quality. Overall an excellent stay and we would definitely go back. Recommended

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Didn't stay here only went for the food. My wife booked lunch at this place for us, it had come highly recommended. They asked her if there was a special occasion and she told them it was a birthday lunch for me. At reception they had difficulty finding our booking (perhaps their spelling of our surname was different to ours). We took our bottle of wine on to the lawns and had a glass and viewed the scenery in the sunshine which was great. The food and service were a litlle lacklustre compared to other great places in Franschhoek. And at the end of the meal, my wife apologised to me as they had not remembered the "special occasion" - they spoiled the day a little.
It is a good restaurant, not a great restaurant, there are many better ones in Franschhoek

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We recently took friends from the UK for an overnight stay and were disappointed. The rooms are looking tired; the upholstery is beginning to look worn, the bathrooms need an upgrade - the silicone was patched around the bath, the "hot" and "cold" knobs on the taps had come off and were lying on the basin. Our impression is that the establishment is placing too much reliance on its setting and not keeping the accommodation up to scratch. It is not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tesscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

we stayed at this hotel in Nov,it was brilliant.We ate lunch in the restaurant after a very informative tour of the cellar and wine tasting.The weather was shocking it rained and rained for the 2 days we stayed,but the lovely cottages with fires and sofa's helped to compensate for the weather.The food was fantastic, the wine was brilliant (so much so i have ordered a case from Tanners for christmas)
Thank you to Mark and staff,

Lynn and Rob Burke
England.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rabLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

First of all, I cannot write a review on the hotel as we did not stay there.

We were fortunate enough to experience the wonderful food of La Petite Ferme during a wine tour we were on. My wife and I took a trip around the world and I can honestly say that the best meal of our trip came from this restaurant. We were told by our tour guide that the food was excellent but if we had known that it was this amazing, we would have ordered another meal to take out with us. I had the risotto of the day (pear, gorgonzola) and my wife had the Warm Goats Cheese, porcini & roasted red onion tartlet served with a side of tempura vegetables. I don't recall what the other travelers had but they all enjoyed their meals equally.

Apparently you have to book in advance to get a seating and expect a little wait while there. We didn't wait overly long and that was ok because we enjoyed the decor and the scenery.

I hope this review helps.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capershaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We did not stay at the hotel but visited La Petite Ferme for a tour of the vineyard and lunch.

The owner, Mark actually took on an incredible tour and his passion for the wine was contageous. We were able to sample any and all of what was on offer and had the rare opportunity to test from the barrels in the cellar which was a great experience.

The staff at the restuarant were very knowledgable, the food top-rate and of course, the wines were superb. I recommend the dessert wine that is sold only in the restaurant. It is exsquisite and the views around the grounds are also remarkable.

I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dendenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.0 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $313 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing